PDA

View Full Version : Uv Mapping



Tony3d
07-26-2005, 08:41 AM
Hi I have tried to map this cylinder using cylindrical uv mapping but can't figure out a way to map the top and bottom using the same image map. I can do it with atlas mapping but not cylindrical. What gives?

BeeVee
07-26-2005, 09:00 AM
You can make more than one UV map share the same image - a couple of planar ones and a cylindrival one for instance... ;)

B

Chazz
07-26-2005, 09:00 AM
I managed to do it with first a cylindrical mapping, then selecting the two caps and mapping them on the planar Y axis with 'Make UVs' command. You might have to re-map the sides again as Lightwave's discontinuous UV map system is a little buggy, but here's what I got:

http://www.vertex-design.net/images/cgtalk/uv-mapping.jpg

Lightwave File (http://www.vertex-design.net/images/cgtalk/disc.lwo)

Tony3d
07-26-2005, 09:31 AM
I don't understand how to make one uv map share the same image. I just end up with 3 seperate maps in the surface panel. How do you make one UV have use one image?

BeeVee
07-26-2005, 10:03 AM
In the Map tab, use Make UVs for the two ends. If you use the same UV Map name, the new bits you do will be added to the map. You might need to unweld to make sure that your UV map is clean...

B

Tony3d
07-26-2005, 10:08 AM
Got it Thanks. Now my problem is getting it to export to 3ds. The guy at the other end says that no uv are set.

toby
07-26-2005, 12:51 PM
I just tried exporting obj's and got no uv's either. I don't think the exporter is up to snuff.

Tony3d
07-26-2005, 01:12 PM
Well let's see, how many years have they had to get it right?

jasonwestmas
08-08-2005, 12:36 PM
Will the LW7.5 obj exporter work with LW8? That one works great for me.

Rabbitroo
08-11-2005, 10:17 PM
Will the LW7.5 obj exporter work with LW8? That one works great for me.

I tried 7.5d, but all the UVs were gone after export.

-K

jasonwestmas
08-12-2005, 02:50 AM
Just be sure that the UV map is applied in the surface editor under the "T" texture button. If you don't the UV map will not be connected to the export.

blabberlicious
08-12-2005, 04:15 AM
Got it Thanks. Now my problem is getting it to export to 3ds. The guy at the other end says that no uv are set.

3DS export is broken in 8 - and reported.

Rabbitroo
08-12-2005, 08:25 AM
Just be sure that the UV map is applied in the surface editor under the "T" texture button. If you don't the UV map will not be connected to the export.

THANK YOU! That did the trick.
-K