PDA

View Full Version : exploding tube



art_DA
07-22-2005, 05:36 PM
Hi,

I have a tube that I applied dynamic particles to and then added HVs and I cannot for the life of me see anything in viper or a render.
It looks great on the camera and other views, but completely black on the render.
One thing I did notice is that I can get to the HV panel by going to Window>Volumetric and Fog Options, but when I click on the Object Properties>Geometry and double click on HV Custom Object, I get a dialgue box that says:

The Hypervoxels Drawing Plug-In has no interface

I have surfaced the tube and checked my Render Options and Camera Properties and everything checks out.
I also brought up an old v8 scene that I made a fireball in and the fireball and the HVs that accompany it rendered with no problems.
I looked at each variable in both particles and HVs and they are very similiar to what I have in this Exploding Tube scene, yet I cannot see the tube scene at all, when I render or in Viper.

I am on LW 8.3 on a PC running Windows XP Pro.

Can anyone help?

Thanks,
Art

Silkrooster
07-22-2005, 10:41 PM
Try rescanning your plugins. When you go WINDOWS>VOLUMETRICS AND FOG OPTIONS... or ctrl F6. You should find hypervoxels listed when you click on add volumetric. Double clicking on hypervoxels 3.0 should bring up the hypervoxel panel. If your getting an error message at this point I am thinking something happened to the plug in and need to be rescanned.
Silk

WizCraker
07-22-2005, 11:55 PM
Sounds like you are trying to access the Hypervoxel Interface from the wrong place. You don't click the HV custom object under Object Properties.

Example of the steps to get to the Hypervoxels panel below. Example Scene File ParticleTest [Right Click -> Save As] (http://www.imagereality.com/Images/3D/Example/particleShow/particleTest.lws).

http://www.imagereality.com/Images/3D/Example/particleShow/FX_001.jpg http://www.imagereality.com/Images/3D/Example/particleShow/FX_002.jpg
http://www.imagereality.com/Images/3D/Example/particleShow/FX_003.jpg
http://www.imagereality.com/Images/3D/Example/particleShow/FX_004.jpg http://www.imagereality.com/Images/3D/Example/particleShow/FX_005.jpg

Then once you have everything set up Render away.

http://www.imagereality.com/Images/3D/Example/particleShow/FX_006.jpg

And Hopefully you will get something like this.

http://www.imagereality.com/Images/3D/Example/particleShow/FX_007.jpg

MonroePoteet
07-23-2005, 12:05 PM
Since you said in the other thread on cigarette smoke that "now, I have to make it explode", I'm assuming this is the same project. For the ol' exploding cigarette trick, you may want more little chunks flying out than smoke & flame. The "explosion" itself can be just a flash of Lens Flare on a light that flicks on and off using an envelope on the Lens Flare intensity.

You can create a tiny little piece of "cigarette" in modeler, then use FX_Linker (Utilities=>Additional) to parent copies of it to the particles in the emitter.

Of course, a little drifting smoke using HV's would complete the scene.

mTp

art_DA
07-25-2005, 09:35 AM
Hi everyone,

I think some of you may have misunderstood my question a bit.
I am actually able to get to the HV panel, but thought that I could also get to it by going to the object properties as well.
I was wanting to explode the tube (ciggie) and tried using it as a particle emitter and then using the particles with HVs to make it look like the shape of the tube was actually exploding, not your typical explosion from a null.
I have particles exploding from the tube and it looks great except that it doesn't render and that is where my problem lies.
I will probably use the null technique and stretch the explosion to fit the tube.
Thanks for your help everybody.

Art

WizCraker
07-25-2005, 12:34 PM
if you have partiles that are actually points you have to make them 1 point polygons there should be a tool in Modeler that will allow you to convert the points to polys.

If you are using the PartigonEmmiter you need to set it up with wind to explosion.

Then for both cases you need to go to Surface editor -> Advanced give it a glow and maybe change the surface to a different color [orange for instance].

Then go to Image procesing Window and Enable Glow. Or the partlices will not look correct.

http://www.imagereality.com/Images/3D/Example/particleShow/Glow.jpg

MonroePoteet
07-25-2005, 01:53 PM
Using the tube as the emitter should work just fine. I did a quick experiement, and the trick to getting them to render seems to be to set the particle size in the Hypervoxels panel. Using the "Automatic Sizing" should work pretty well.

mTp

art_DA
07-25-2005, 05:30 PM
Well, I've set the glow params in both Surface and Image Processing and used automatic sizing in the HV panel, but no go.
I can't even see my tube in the first frame!
How do I get the particles to show up if the object is an HV emitter?
I have HVs turned on and I can't see a thing.
What if I want an object to be a partigon emitter?
I never saw a choice when I made the tube the emitter.
I get the choice when I just go to Items>Add>Emitter and use the null technique, but my tube is the emitter in this case.
Never had to use wind, as I used the "explosion (m/s)" box in the motion tab in the Dynamics>Particles tab of the Object (tube).
Also, isn't there a way to actually explode the tube and see the actual polygons "blow away" from the object?
Couldn't I use "Unweld" and then somehow have them explode out from the tube instead of having to "make" little pieces of the tube in modeler?
Thanks for your help guys.
I'm starting to think the file is corrupt.

Art

WizCraker
07-25-2005, 07:06 PM
Get Crack It to break the object for you.

Download from here (http://f23.aaa.livedoor.jp/~fisjunk/plugin/plugin.php?platform=1&code=1&type=Modeler&version=7#f)

Also for some good resource on Lightwave Dynamics Visit http://www.spinquad.com/forums/showthread.php?threadid=1695

WizCraker
07-26-2005, 12:02 PM
here is a sample movie [quicktime] that shows a closed cylinder exploding with particles [HV Emmiter]. Exploding Tube movie (http://www.imagereality.com/Images/3D/Example/particleShow/Explosion.mov)

Here is the sample scene. Explosion Sample Scene (http://www.imagereality.com/Images/3D/Example/particleShow/ExplodeTubeWithParticle.zip)

Make sure you go to object properties then dynamics and press Calculate to set the break up in motion.

I used Crack It! from previous above post to slice the object in modeler.

http://www.imagereality.com/Images/3D/Example/particleShow/Explosion_0008.jpg

art_DA
07-27-2005, 09:58 AM
Thanks Wizcraker!
Also thanks for everyone's help on this project.
I'll try Crack It and see what happens. For all intents and purposes, the project is done, however, I can slip a new animation in next month if I want.
I really don't know LW yet, but still have been able to crank out some decent stuff.
Again....Thank you to all,

Art

art_DA
07-27-2005, 10:48 AM
Hey Wizcraker,

How is Crack It! used?
Is it a plug-in?
Where do I install it?
Is it OK for LW 8.3?
Just kind of leery about it.
Thought about getting C4 as well, but don't know.
Any opinions?

Art

WizCraker
07-27-2005, 07:48 PM
yes Crack It is a plugin or Lscript to be more precise.

I copied it in the plugin folder. I have all 3rd party plugins in their own directory [ie. \LightWave[8]\Plugins\3rd\CrackIt ]

Then just go to either Modeler or Layout and Add the plugin .

Here is a Video of adding the plugin and using it. It is in wmv format.
Add Plugin [wmv] 451 KB (http://www.imagereality.com/Images/3D/Example/particleShow/AddPlugin/AddPlugin.wmv)
Destroy it [wmv] 6 MB (http://www.imagereality.com/Images/3D/Example/particleShow/AddPlugin/DestroyDisc.wmv)

art_DA
07-28-2005, 05:16 PM
Thanks Wizcraker. It worked, but I noticed I added it on there twice. Will that hurt anything. Should I delete one of the plug-ins?
Thanks again. You've been a big help.

art

WizCraker
07-28-2005, 07:47 PM
shouldn't hurt anything.

If you have two buttons then you could delete one of them if you want.

I noticed the first time I installed it it put it under additional and middle mouse button i think. If that is what you ment by adding it there twice.