PDA

View Full Version : How much RAM for Powerbook?



stnage
07-06-2005, 09:17 AM
Hi Gang!!

LW 3D user in Minneapolis here.
I am doing some experimental architectural walk-through and want to edit this in imovie or Final Cut Pro in the future.

I am pretty good at still rendering and movie editing.
I did some render in 640X 480 and it takes forever in my G4 1.5GHz with 512 RAM.
I guess this is not good muchine for Walk-through aniamtion, yet anyone think it is worth to upgrade RAM in my powerbook 15"?

Let me know...


Thanks..

07-08-2005, 05:04 AM
I too have a 15-inch PowerBook. Time vs. price of RAM. No contest. Buy more RAM. I wouldn't waste anymore time without a full 1GB. Other apps (like Final Cut Pro) also will benefit.
Best!
George

Avalon
07-08-2005, 07:57 PM
Hi Gang!!

LW 3D user in Minneapolis here.
I am doing some experimental architectural walk-through and want to edit this in imovie or Final Cut Pro in the future.

I am pretty good at still rendering and movie editing.
I did some render in 640X 480 and it takes forever in my G4 1.5GHz with 512 RAM.
I guess this is not good muchine for Walk-through aniamtion, yet anyone think it is worth to upgrade RAM in my powerbook 15"?

Let me know...


Thanks..

I use my TI powerbook. I upgraded the RAM to its max, I think thats 1.2 Gig. It seems to handle LW pretty well. My biggest complaint is the screen size.
And YES it was worth it.