PDA

View Full Version : Very OT: Making Tiger Work With Exchange Server?



Matt
07-05-2005, 10:00 AM
Our Office is mainly PCs these days (was all Mac once upon a time).

However, we have one user scraping his nails off as he clings to his G4 (now with Tiger 10.4).

Everything is pretty much okay apart from email. We just cannot get it to work (other than using Outlook Web Access) with our Windows 2000 Exchange Server.

We're using Entourage 2004 OSX which claims to support Exchange Server, yeah, right! Despite entering all the correct information into the account details - it just won't find Exchange.

It used to work fine when he was using Mac OS9 and our server was running Windows NT.

Any ideas would be greatly appreciated!

Cheers
Matt

eblu
07-05-2005, 11:31 AM
apple's support site, has a discussions board where I know people have gotten help with exchange...

heres the main support site:
http://www.apple.com/support/

the discussions site:
http://discussions.info.apple.com/[email protected]@tiger

i know from this link:

http://docs.info.apple.com/article.html?artnum=151496

that mail.app does indeed work with exchange, perhaps there is a Version incompatibility, or maybe a setting that must be entered that is not yet obvious.

I know that if you want to change your windows workgroup on a mac you have to use the application: /applications/utilities/directory access.app. Turns out that this app probably makes more sense as a preference pane, but it never made it there. Its a clearing house for Networking settings for different communications protocols.


anyway, good luck with it.
-eblu

mike_stening
07-06-2005, 04:11 AM
we are using an exchange server and after a while of fighting with it we now have it all up and running, one half of our office uses pc's and the creative side uses macs, all running entourage.
i can probably give you the base settings to get it working, give me a shout.
the only thing that is a little dodgy is the address book doesnt auto load but all addresses are recognised and can be checked and added when you send a message.

Matt
07-08-2005, 05:34 AM
Thanks for the replies guys! Mike, could you talk me through how you got it working, I've put the correct settings for Exchange into Entourage but it just can't find the server.

Any help would be appreciated!

Cheers
Matt

mike_stening
07-08-2005, 06:00 AM
matt check your pm