PDA

View Full Version : windows xp 64



tektonik
06-30-2005, 09:27 AM
i hear that with with windows xp64 you can have access to more ram even with 32 bit versions of LW/fprime (under WOW emulation IF the software is compiled with the access large memory or whatever switch)

anyone can confirm this ?

if so i will be upgrading my athlon 64 to win xp 64 and go up to 4 gig physical ram !

Phaxmohdem
07-02-2005, 01:04 PM
Yes from what I hear that is true as well, you may want to look into the lightwave 64 beta program if you haven't already. as with any emulation I would imagine you could take a small hit in performance, but then again, it could be made up for by the extra RAM. I really couldnt' tell you with certainty.

Phaxmohdem
07-02-2005, 01:13 PM
Here you go found this article on the subject:

http://www.pcworld.com/news/article/0,aid,112609,00.asp