PDA

View Full Version : Aspect Ratio and FCP

mistersquid
06-27-2005, 12:02 PM
I'm new to LW and I'm a bit confused about pixel aspect ratio in LW. I'm building a sequence and outputting a QuickTime movie using DV/DVSC PRO. I will import the finished QT movie into Final Cut Pro for use in a letterboxed 4:3 NTSC video (DV footage captured in 16:9 anamorphic).

How should I set my camera properties (width, height, and pixel aspect ratio) if I want the final LW sequence to fit into the 4:3 letterbox (which is occupied by the 16:9 anamorphic DV footage)?

Is my question coherent? Any help or noob pointers would be greatly appreciated.

Lottmedia
06-27-2005, 01:29 PM
First off, you're confusing your aspect ratios for editing. I assume that you mean that the final output is going to by 4:3 with letterboxing. You say that the footage was captured in 16:9.
Assuming all of this is right, you want to edit in 16:9, render your Lightwave stuff in 16:9, do everything in 16:9 if that's your output. The letterboxing has nothing to do with anything unless you are part of the DVD authoring process or something. Unless there are some other circumatances, you only need to concentrate on working in 16:9.
You can adjust the aspect ratio in the camera propertis window to a DV widescreen ratio (there is a drop box).
Another thing is that you DO NOT want to render your LW projects to DV. You're automatically killing quality by rendering out to a DV file and then again when you render in FCP. You need to render out sequence files in something lossless (tiff or PDS) This also has the benifit that if you have a crash or some other problem in the middle of a long render, all your work is not lost. Also, it is easier if you need to go back and change a portion of the render, you only need to render the effected portions.

Hope this helps,
J-Rod

mistersquid
06-27-2005, 02:33 PM