PDA

View Full Version : where could i improve on this setup?



majorbox
06-25-2005, 05:42 PM
I've got a 1.8DP G5 with 1G of RAM and a 128mb ati card. If add more RAM at what point would it not really improve much and be more processor limited? Or am I already processor limited?

Thanks

toby
06-25-2005, 09:53 PM
I've got 2.5gb ram and I'm always running 15 - 20 applications at a time, if I wanted to do more, I'd probably need more ram - so it depends on how much you push it. The system likes to have 512mb to itself, so that only leaves you 512 for your apps before it starts hitting the hard drive a lot. Turn on your activity monitor and watch the ram usage while you work, then you'll see if you need more.

1.8ghz isn't much these days, you've got 3.6 total ghz compared to the newest G5 at 5.4ghz, but it's not too bad either. I had a dual 450 until a year ago :o

Captain Obvious
06-26-2005, 02:19 PM
Buy more RAM! I have 1.25 gigabytes and I still keep hitting the swap!