PDA

View Full Version : water/logo/help plz :)



majorbox
06-25-2005, 05:36 PM
I've got a scene laid out, it's basically a text logo, however I would like to set it up where the logo is transparent and water fills it up by being poured into the top. All that would render would be the water creating the text from the bottom up.


What i've been able to do is set up the emitters and such, but where I get lost is getting the particles to play well with the logo. When i set up a collision map which setting should I use to get it to collide with the interior of the object and not just the exterior of the object now?

Do I need to build the text a different way other than just using the LW text tool? (Then deleting the top polly creating a shell.)

Thanks oh lightwave gurus.

Dodgy
06-25-2005, 06:01 PM
You should only really be using particles for the pouring part. Make the water out of polys and morph it growing and use a displacement map/bump map to slosh it around. You'd need too many particles to make it look convincing, and render times would be horrendous. You can even add cloth fx on top to have the pouring water to deform the water surface.

majorbox
06-25-2005, 06:14 PM
off in a new direction I go then :)

any other tips?

yazan
06-26-2005, 02:44 AM
Ya, use realflow from Nextlimit. I have been able to do what you are describing within minutes from their 30 day trial. you will have to do the following, if I miss anything someone please stop me.
add the plugins in lightwave
model your text thing, triple it (this can be just for the collision, no need for a highly detailed model in this part)
put in layout
put in the frame number needed for the scene
open master plugins, add sd exporter, check off the layer with the collision object, no need for the vertice check
and save your sd file

You'll need to real a few tutorials from Will Cameron to get the hang of realflow, just a few minutes
http://lightwave.panthers-den.com/
then you create your scene in RF, load/import your sd file
add the emitter, fiddle with the emiter properties (I do this at the end to make sure defaults work fine)
add a gravity deamon
click on your object and turn on dynamics but not dynamics motion
make sure collisions is on for your object and choose normal in or out (inside of container outer collision)
Chose the object for the collision mesh
now go to yourScene tree tab and click add all
Now go to your Export Central tab and check of partice sd bin export
Now press action, this should start the simulation.
When done you have two options
render the particles as in NL particles or hypervoxels
Or render a mesh, this requires creation of mesh which is an even longer and glitchier process, if needed let me know as I'm trying to finish this in my lunch break. sorry, time is hard to come by
If its particles, then go back to your layout, add null, open the object properties, go to the deform tab and add NL particle plugin in
load in the first of the sd particle bin files and press accept
now in the Effects window, volumetric tab, add either hypervoxels and add the null to it, or the NL fluid shader.
I hope this helps you in one way or another, I have found it reliable for simulation and unlike the lightwave native particle system, which may be great for other effects, is really bad in filling up stuff and tends to just slip the container. If you need any more help, let me know, I will try my best to get you the information.
Yazan

3Daemon
06-26-2005, 10:27 PM
Umm was thinking if u use your other method u might want to copy the object then paste to another layer and flip the poly's then copy and paste back onto the original layer, so the particles have something to bounce off/in.

yazan
06-27-2005, 12:37 AM
I'm not sure if you are commenting on what i wrote or the earlier post. But in realflow you don't need to flip the poly's as you have the option to collide with normals or with them flipped, meaning inside object or out. Anyway, come render times you can place your container and hide your collision object (you actually don't even need it since the particle motions are set.)
yazan

3Daemon
06-27-2005, 09:27 PM
No, I was referring to his first method he was trying. In fact you would only need the one object without copying another because it's supposed to be transparent I believe. But yea realflow does specialise in particles so it's fair to say that would be the way to go.