PDA

View Full Version : LW 8.3 on MAC OSX Tiger Is it buggy?

willconn
06-19-2005, 03:35 PM
New user of LW seeks wise MAC Master to offer insight(s) to what I think are bugs with LW 8.3 on Tiger.

Current problem is CLONE HIERARCHY button produces ERROR MESSAGE "Cannot load external plug-in file <PowerChuck:Applications:Lightwave [8]: plugins:lscripts:utility:Generic:Clonehierarchy.ls>."

I've checked my hard drive to make sure this file is there, and it indeed is. The odd bit is that the file name "PowerChuck" seems unusual, as my Hard Drive is not called that ("iMac G5" is the drive name).

When I double check the file hierarchy, it reads "Where: /Applications/Lightwave [8]/
plugins/lscripts/utility/generic/clonehierarchy.ls" I'm guessing (and again, I'm just starting out with LW) that there's some preferences folder that is amiss, and LW is looking for my laptop (PowerChuck) hard drive for some reason.

Any thoughts or wise words?

Willconn

willconn
06-19-2005, 04:34 PM
I've continued experimenting and as I suspected, LW is looking for my files in a hard drive from another machine (PowerChuck), not "iMac G5".

I've reset the CONTENT DIRECTORY to where my files are currently located, but LW is still searching for the "PowerChuck" folder.

Any ideas how I can "eductate" LW to be looking in the right place?

I also tried changing the name on my iMac G5 hard drive to read "PowerChuck" and the clonehierarchy.ls plugin file loads fine when I've done that. Of course this causes all the other plugins to not load. So again, I need to reset LW somehow so it knows where to be looking.

Thanks,

Willconn

Captain Obvious
06-19-2005, 04:44 PM
I can't say I've encountered any bugs in 8.2.1 that weren't there in Panther, other than USB Overdrive not working properly.

toby
06-20-2005, 03:47 AM
I've continued experimenting and as I suspected, LW is looking for my files in a hard drive from another machine (PowerChuck), not "iMac G5".