PDA

View Full Version : Import Illustrator files

anton_cid
06-18-2005, 06:33 PM
Hi I'm desperate ... I'm a novice user and maybe somebody over there can help me.

I just try to animate a 3D logo, the source file is a Illustrator (version 7) file.

First I tryed to import the file in the modeler with the EPSF Loader.

When file is load I finded that the tehre's not "holes" on the "A" "D" and "O" of my text.

How can I drill this?? Or beter, how can I import the original text the right way??

Thanks

Silkrooster
06-18-2005, 06:58 PM
After importing an eps or ai file use merge points tool (lowercase m - shortcut).
Silk

anton_cid
06-18-2005, 07:44 PM
How can I do that...

I already find tne merge tool, but how I use it?? Do I need to apply it to the all object?? I just apply it to the "O" but nothing happens...

Can you help me??

Silkrooster
06-18-2005, 10:33 PM
Press the m key without having any objects selected. Press ok, you will either get a message telling you how many points were removed or an error message telling you no points were removed.
The merge points tool can also be located at DETAIL>POINTS>MERGE POINTS
Silk

maxxwv
06-20-2005, 09:04 AM
Personally, I don't use the AutoAxis Drill option in the EPS import - you've got more control manually. If you look at your imported logo in wireframe view, you'll see that the "holes" are there for the O, A, etc..., they're simply additional polygons directly on top of the full letters. Select those polygons, cut them and paste them into another layer. Move them slightly forward on Z, then put that layer into the background, with the full letters in the forground. Now, you can use the Template Drill option to drill the holes into the letters using "Tunnel" on the Z axis. If your resulting polygon has too many points, it will look like nothing happened - try splitting the poly into smaller sections.

Hope that made sense.

zerocrossing
05-10-2007, 09:41 AM