PDA

View Full Version : Screamernet says it can't find any CPU's. Help!

Lunar Unit
06-14-2005, 01:27 PM
This is my first attempt at setting up screamernet. I only have one computer networked to mine so I can farm out renders to it while I keep working. I've followed Dan Ablan's tutorial in Inside Lightwave 8 on setting up screamernet, but it still says it can't find any CPU's. Any suggestions?

polarbear53
06-14-2005, 03:49 PM
The screamer command set on the screamernet server isn't set to pointing at the same job files the .bat files are pointing to.

Lunar Unit
06-15-2005, 11:30 AM
I'm really not that tech savvy, so I'll try to tell you what's going on in terms I understand.
I have a folder I share with one other computer called screamernet, it ofcourse is my main Lightwave[8] folder. The master computer's name is FRANK. When I go to the command directory and set it to a folder screamernet_command in side my shared folder, the directory displays \Lightwave[8]\screamernet_command\ instead of the shared folder Frank\screamernet\screamernet_command.

The same thing happens when I try to set the content directory to the shared folder screamernet. The Lightwave[8] original folder on the master computer is displayed. Not Frank\screamernet.

So when I go to create the .bat file I'm not sure how I should design it.
What I have tried is this:

echo "Lightwave Screamernet Node 1 Initialisation . . ."
cd c:\lightwave[8]\programs\
LWSN -2 -c\\Frank\screamernet\config_screamernet -
d\\Frank\screamernet\ \\Frank\screamernet\screamer_command\job1
\\Frank\screamernet\screamer_command\ack1

When I click on the .bat file it disappears so fast I can't even read what kind of errors it's giving me. I don't know if this makes sense to anyone at all, but if you have any tips, I'd be much obliged.

polarbear53
06-16-2005, 12:01 AM