PDA

View Full Version : Turn off menu "feature": Select Last Used Menu Item

dlwaters
06-03-2005, 06:41 PM
Okey Dokey ....

First newbie question, and it's just an issue I have with LW[8]'s menu interface. :confused:

Is there any way to turn off the interface "feature" where in a menu it automatically selects the last menu-item you used? This wouldn't be such a big deal, except that I kinda hate the way if I *don't* want to click the last used menu item I have to move up to the little triangle doohickey to get the rest of the menu items to scroll into view. As a newbie, I just want to be able to see all the menu items all of the time without having to deal with the scrolling menu stuff.

Any help? Pretty please??

DL

Snosrap
06-03-2005, 07:56 PM
Don't know anyway to change it and personally I wouldn't want to. It really works great when you need to reuse that tool. Image how aggravating it would be to always have to scroll down to repeat the use of the tool over and over again. Mostly I use keyboard shortcuts but I use the shift/ctrl key qualifiers with left, middle and right mouse buttons to get to tools I use fairly regularly, but don't have any more available keyboard keys to use.Believe me this speeds up workflow tremendously. I understand as a newbie trying to learn the software to see what all the buttons do this could be a little aggravating, but in no time you'll be moving along and you'll come to appreciate this "feature".

Cheers
Snos

dlwaters
06-04-2005, 09:18 AM
Snos,

Thanks. I was playing (in home-made college-course mode) and I can definitely see how the select-last-used-menu-item works to my advantage, because there are a lot of settings that you have to set "across the board" while configuring multiple objects.