PDA

View Full Version : Lightnet using 100% CPU



Exception
06-03-2005, 12:56 AM
Hi guys,

My lightnet is using up a lot of cpu power itself, leaving almost nothing for the screamers to render... a restart sometimes helps but invariably they go back to using a lot of CPU. this is on all the computers, not justone, and I'm quite worried about it. Anyone have any clues?

Lightwolf
06-03-2005, 02:48 AM
Oh my, this is an old "problem" with LightNet. Basically LN runs a background task at 100% CPU time to check if the computer is idel so it can kick in the Screamsaver.

No worries, it doesn't eat any of the CPU time that you would use when rendering. The 100% come from a background task.

Cheers,
Mike

Exception
06-03-2005, 06:08 AM
Ah ok, thanks...
I kinda did notice the render times wern't being impacted as much, but it was unsettling anyway...

you know the feeling? 5 computers, 3 weeks render time, and you can't stop worrying sick about every single detail.

Sleep? ha!

Thanks Mike

Lightwolf
06-03-2005, 06:48 AM
you know the feeling? 5 computers, 3 weeks render time, and you can't stop worrying sick about every single detail.

Sleep? ha!

Lol ... well, how about 10 computers and three months render time? ;)
I know _exactly_ how you feel and wish you the best of luck ... and some sleep :D

Cheers,
Mike