PDA

View Full Version : trying to do this tutorial...



jnddepew
05-31-2005, 07:51 AM
I'm trying to do the tutorial here: http://www.newtek.com/products/lightwave/tutorials/surface/texturing/texturing_landscape_2.html

but I when get to step four of using the bump texture, I'm stumped. In the Input parameter of a gradient layer, there is no "slope" option.

I'd relly like to make some nice looking mountains. :D

MooseDog
05-31-2005, 09:48 AM
p. 1481 of the manual has your answer. should be there, no real reason not to be :eek:

jnddepew
05-31-2005, 10:27 AM
page 1481????

mattclary
05-31-2005, 12:14 PM
You don't see this?

jnddepew
05-31-2005, 03:14 PM
nope. ther's no slope option:
[img=http://img231.echo.cx/img231/9847/bbbfd3ih.th.jpg] (http://img231.echo.cx/my.php?image=bbbfd3ih.jpg)

GregMalick
05-31-2005, 06:57 PM
that jpeg you posted is showing a displacement gradient. ;)

The tutorial is talking about using the gradient in the bump channel.
Slope will be available there.

BTW - it makes sense that you can't use slope with a displacement - since the displacement changes the slope. It would be like a dog chasing it's tail....gradient creates displacement that causes the slope which determines the gradient..... to infinity :D

jnddepew
05-31-2005, 07:31 PM
umm... how do you make a bump map?

I'm real newbie

jnddepew
05-31-2005, 07:55 PM
okay, I found that out. now i have a new problem. when I try to set the scales to 0.3, 0.1, and 0.1, like the tutorial says, the lowest they will go is 1.0.

does anyone have any suggestions?

GregMalick
05-31-2005, 09:50 PM
Are you sure you aren't confusing the parameter values for the Gradient Keys with the scale values of the procedural?

The later are set in the "Crumple" procedural using that bottom Tab (Scale) and refer to the X, Y, Z scales...works for me.

Oh and posting a picture would help - so we don't have to guess where you are at. If I hadn't seen that other jpeg link I would have thought something was wrong with your installation. Just use the manage attachments when writing a post add a jpeg next time...

over and out... ;)

jnddepew
06-01-2005, 05:04 AM
[img=http://img208.echo.cx/img208/962/helponlandscape2rr.th.jpg] (http://img208.echo.cx/my.php?image=helponlandscape2rr.jpg)
this is the place that I'm filling in for scales.

jnddepew
06-05-2005, 12:57 PM
can someone please help?

GregMalick
06-06-2005, 09:34 AM
I'm stumped...I don't have any problems with Scale Values... :confused:
I suppose you could post your scene so that we could test if we have the same problem. Maybe something is wierd with your LW installation.

SplineGod
06-06-2005, 11:38 AM
umm... how do you make a bump map?

I'm real newbie


In the tutorial the first thing he does is add a DISPLACEMENT Map. This effects the actual geometry of the object.
Objects have SURFACES. The smallest surface can be one polygon and the biggest can be every polygon. Bump maps are a surface attribute so you have to create/apply them in the bump channel in the surface editor. You should be able to type in pretty much any value in the Scale. To see the effect of the bumps you need to render an image (F9 key) or use VIPER. :)

parm
06-06-2005, 01:02 PM
Have a look at the two gradient tutorials on this page:

http://www.newtek.com/products/lightwave/tutorials/videos/index.html

They give a very good introduction to using gradient parameters.

Parm