PDA

View Full Version : Installing LW 8



starbase1
05-31-2005, 01:53 AM
Hi All,
I've just got LW 8, and I have had a slightly odd idea for installing it.

Previously I have instaled to a new directory, and then mucked about moving content, presets, plugins etc about.

Obviously I don't want to overwrite the old one in case there are problems - and before now I have needed to go back to use tools that were removed.

So what I think I'd like to do is to take a copy of the old LW7 directory, and install over that.

Can anyone see any problems with this approach?

Cheers, Nick

mattclary
05-31-2005, 05:44 AM
I always just leave my old copy on the computer for a while. I keep all my projects as a subdirectory of "My Documents", so I don't have to worry about them.

BeeVee
05-31-2005, 07:51 AM
You will have problems Nick if you mix and match like that. Your best bet is to install to a new directory (and for comfort's sake I don't recommend "Program Files") and redirect your configs for both 7.5 and 8 so that you can run both (though not at the same time unless you switch off the Hub).

B