PDA

View Full Version : Digital Juice - Matte



wess
05-30-2005, 04:32 AM
Hi,

I am trying to apply a matte from Digital Jiuce over my video in TED. Eventhough I have the matte below my video and have selected overlay on the matte, the video does not come through the matte's alpha chanel.

How do you do this in VT3?

Thanks!

Ivan
05-30-2005, 05:50 AM
No mattes in VT. There are a number of ways to do this in Aura, try Stencil.

Ivan

DonN
05-30-2005, 08:21 AM
Do you mean realtime overlays with alpha channel?
Turn on overlay, key=y.

No stenciling or alpha matte stencils in VT.

This is an advanced feature in a lot of other NLE's out there, that we may or may not ever get in VT. Now with TriCaster and HDV being all the rage, I wonder just how much resource NewTek will put into such things for VT in the future.
Don


Don

wess
05-30-2005, 10:44 AM
Thanks for the info guys.

I am really amazed that TED can not do this (using a PNG alpha matte from DJ). How complex can it be to impelement considering you can efforlessly add an animated overlay?

I basically made uncompressed alpha mattes in Vegas and brought them into TED as a work around.

Ivan
05-30-2005, 11:34 AM
The difference is that in the animated overlay it is a single clip. With a Matte you are trying to affect one clip with another. It may not be that dificult to program but it is likely not at the top of the "gotta put this in" list either.

Ivan