PDA

View Full Version : How to best take advantage of Dual processor G5

Cinewalt
05-27-2005, 08:07 PM
I've got a dual 2.0 G5 with 2.5Gb RAM. Is there any reason not to always stick with 8 threads multithreading for renders? I've heard people talk about using screamernet to utilize the 2nd processor - but isn't it already being utilized by the normal render operation? Are there other optimization parameters that speed up renders using this setup? I've seen similar posts, but no one seemed to have specific recommendations. I'm new to Lightwave, BTW, and I'm loving it!

drclare
05-28-2005, 05:27 AM
It depends on the scene and what you are rendering. Some plugins are not multithreaded and don't use the second processor at all. Many people have found that when rendering hypervoxels it is actually much slower to use more than one thread. It is not an excact science and requires some testing to see what works best. Using screamernet does use both prossecors to their full potential, but you cannot split a single frame into two renders without needing to do some post-processing after. For animations it is a good idea though. I use a dual 800MHz G4 and have found that on average 4 threads seems to be the fastest.

Captain Obvious
05-28-2005, 12:15 PM
Just set it to eight and you'll be fine. If you think it takes too darned long to render, experiment with ScreamerNet and fewer threads. For the most part, however, eight is the optimum.

toby
05-28-2005, 03:24 PM
Welcome to LW, it is the most enjoyable program I've ever used.

It takes a little time for LW to split data into threads, the more threads the more time. So generally the longer your render takes, the more threads will help you, but it's always worthwhile to do tests. Turn on 'show render in progress' and you can see the different sections rendered by each thread. If there's nothing to be rendered in some of those sections, multi-threading may take longer.