PDA

View Full Version : Weight maps - How to divide the body?

Salem78
05-27-2005, 12:02 PM
I'm a little bit newbie to rigging characters and are following this tutorial http://www.puffandlarkin.com/lightwave/tutorials/character_rigging/skelegons.html. I'm now working on "Weight maps", but I'm not sure about how divide up some weight maps on my model.
I'm not sure about bones "Spline03", "Splin04" and "Collarbone", how to divide the upperbody on those bones. My guess is like the picture, but I dont know:

http://web.telia.com/~u27807121/images/Weigtmaps.jpg

What do you say?

And what about "UpperLegBuffer"? If I put upperleg for bone "Upperleg", what part of the body do I put on "UpperLegBuffer" then?

And last, what about the butt? What bones should the butt belong to? The "Pelvis"-bone or "Upperleg"-bone? Or both? Another?

Do you know if there are any site about how to more exactly divide a body into weight maps? I found one, but that model didn't show that much I needed to know and didn't have bones like "splines" and "Upperlegbuffer".

rwhunt99
05-27-2005, 02:19 PM
Well Salem; If you are just getting started, I heartliy suggest you try Jonny Gorden's books "Cartoon Character Creation,it is a two book set that will take you from newbie building a character all the way through to rigging and weighting the character and how to efficiently animate them. It's very good because it doesn't give just bits and pieces on the whole process, it's the real deal on how the pros do it. I can also reccomend Tim albees book on Character animation, they are two different styles that will allow you to learn everything you want to know and will drastically cut your time of frustration to a minimum. Both books are published by Wordware, probably the best place to find references books on Lightwave !! :D

Surrealist.
05-27-2005, 02:58 PM
I'll second the plug For Timothy Albee.