PDA

View Full Version : How does more RAM speed rendering?



euge04
05-24-2005, 04:02 PM
I have 1 gig of RAM in my 1.8 dual G5. What kind of speed increase can I expect from installing 2 more gigs of RAM running Lightwave 8?

Does more RAM help with larger projects or does more RAM help overall? Does the speed increase happen because the computer does not use the hard drive for a scratch disk or virtual memory?

Captain Obvious
05-24-2005, 04:28 PM
Does the speed increase happen because the computer does not use the hard drive for a scratch disk or virtual memory?
Yes. Render speed will not increase unless the renderer has to access the hard drive, which it in most cases doesn't.

LSlugger
05-24-2005, 04:32 PM
The more segments you have to use, the longer your render will take. More RAM lets you use fewer, bigger segments. If your scene already fits in one segment, more RAM probably will not help.

Keep in mind that with two processors, you can run two render nodes, which will double your memory requirement.

Captain Obvious
05-24-2005, 04:42 PM
With two processors, you can just set the threads to >1. I don't think that doubles the RAM requirements.