PDA

View Full Version : Property Visuals



Matth
05-18-2005, 04:58 AM
One of my latest Property renders. Done on the cheap ;)
(like a couple of hundred pounds.)

Matt

adrian
05-18-2005, 05:14 AM
Very nice. How long did it take you? I take it the foliage is not geometry (clip maps)?

BTW if you don't mind me asking, when you do a job "not on the cheap" do you charge a lot more than 200 quid? Only reason I ask is that I want to put my services "out there" but am not sure how much to charge....

Also, is this just a still image or did you do an animation for the client as well?

One last question, how do you go about getting jobs like this? Do you ring up architectural companies and say "hey, I can do this for you....."?

Adrian.

Matth
05-18-2005, 05:34 AM
Very nice. How long did it take you? I take it the foliage is not geometry (clip maps)?
It took me about 8 hours or so to build. I had to build more detail in for a Print res version so hence the timescale.

Yes the Trees are 2D image maps with clips on single polys. I did buy a set of Xfrog 3d trees but the rendering times are just stupid so I'm gonna have to wait for faster processors for those to be used commercially.


BTW if you don't mind me asking, when you do a job "not on the cheap" do you charge a lot more than 200 quid? Only reason I ask is that I want to put my services "out there" but am not sure how much to charge....
One of my m8s supplies creative for one of the larger property developers in the uk and after I did a demo for him (which took 3 days) he replaced the usual watercolours he had produced with my 3d models. Gradually the timescale for building has reduced over the past months and a 4bed house normally takes about 6 hours to build. It all depends on the roofline which can sometimes be such a pain.

In terms of cost The on the cheap price is my usual price. I'm such a prostitute :) Sometimes though I can charge up to 450.


Also, is this just a still image or did you do an animation for the client as well?
No animations because the client won't pay for them yet and as this is just part of the job I do I don't have the time to do them. Also using 2d trees is pants when it comes to animating these buildings.


One last question, how do you go about getting jobs like this? Do you ring up architectural companies and say "hey, I can do this for you....."?
Pretty much. Although I have drawn a blank so far after 100 cold calls. I hope you have better luck.

Thanks for your comments Adrian. BTW if you visit the company site you will see some of the others I have done. Gloderworks.com (http://www.gloderworks.com)

Psycho Zo
05-18-2005, 07:28 AM
I'm such a prostitute :)

EHEHEHEHEHEHEHEHEEEEEE!
I dunno why that made me laugh so much... *cough*

Anyhoo!
I think it looks great, looks like this place I've seen.
You enjoy modeling houses?

Matth
05-18-2005, 07:37 AM
You enjoy modeling houses?
I enjoy the modelling when I get something new to do that's a real challenge. But the money seems to put a smile on my face - from the punters!!! ;)

Trying to learn Lscript atm but I can't find too much documentation. It would really help if I could make scripts to create the windows etc to follow uk style windows and doors.

Psycho Zo
05-18-2005, 08:43 AM
That's cool though! As long as you enjoy it.
3D + Moneh = Happeh!

G'luck with the Lscript!

MooseDog
05-18-2005, 09:14 AM
Trying to learn Lscript atm but I can't find too much documentation. It would really help if I could make scripts to create the windows etc to follow uk style windows and doors.

have you seen this? there's a demo available. final product is kinda pricey, but may be justifiable if you're bringing in enough green.

http://www.wtools3d.com/

Matth
05-18-2005, 10:31 AM
have you seen this? there's a demo available. final product is kinda pricey, but may be justifiable if you're bringing in enough green.

http://www.wtools3d.com/

thanks for that but i am one of those MAC users :D and when they annonced it i asked about a mac version. usual reply (one WILL be done!!)

The script I want to generate will actually build the window frames and put the glass in etc. Ambitious seeing as I have done no scripting at all!!! :D

MooseDog
05-18-2005, 09:39 PM
fair enough. now we know more, another try: :eek:

window script (http://www.flay.com/GetDetail.cfm?ID=1869)

hope it's not pc only, again :o

Matth
05-19-2005, 03:02 AM
fair enough. now we know more, another try: :eek:

window script (http://www.flay.com/GetDetail.cfm?ID=1869)

hope it's not pc only, again :o

MooseDog - thanks m8. It seems to be able to work on Mac OSX for some others on the thread at Flay. I'll see how I go with it. Thanks for helping a novice. :)

Matt