PDA

View Full Version : Looking for help...

hbsometh
05-16-2005, 10:58 PM
Hi there...

I'm never sure exactly WHICH category to put this post in. Anyway, here's the deal. I'm new to Lightwave 3D. I am involved in an animation project for network television. We have recently decided to switch to 3D from 2D (from Flash to Lightwave). I need to get up to speed quickly.

I have been watching web tutorials and such, but what I really REALLY need is to find some other Lightwave users that I could possibly even 'shadow' for a while to get an idea of the typical flow. I guess I'd like to find a 'mentor' to help me get up to speed. Any words of advice? Suggestions? Volunteers?? ;) Would appreciate any words.

THANKS in advance!

toby
05-19-2005, 01:13 AM
Wow, no responses for 2 days? We must be slipping fellas.

Hi Barry, welcome to Lightwave! It can be a real blast. And this forum is great, believe me, despite the chilly reception you got! I guess none of us have time to be a mentor, feel free to ask your questions here, but you really should take a few evenings and read through the manual - there are lots of cool things in there anyway (skip the complicated stuff you won't use like expressions and character rigging). This will help tremendously in knowing how things are done in LW - but if you still need help - (and you will!) just come here.

What kind of things will you be doing, flying logo stuff?

hbsometh
05-19-2005, 01:43 AM
Thanks for the response.

We're working on an animated TV series in the vein of Family Guy/South Park, but with the style of say, a Jimmy Neutron. We'll be using cell-shading to give the characters a 2D look.

I have hooked up with Larry Shultz (SplineGod) in another forum and he has been a TREMENDOUS help!! With people like him out there, it gives you faith back in human nature!