PDA

View Full Version : What is correct .hdr wrap for image world?

slimbolina
05-15-2005, 03:43 PM
Hi folks,

I'm a LW newbie (v8.3), but I'm struggling to find the answer to this query. I hope someone can help me, as I'm learning to composite 3D renders onto 2D photos directly in LW. It goes like this...

HDR Shop offers several transformations for .hdr images: mirror ball, light probe (angular), latitude/longitide, etc. Which one gives the correct wrapping when used with Image World, please? Does IW recognise the form automatically, or do I have to stick with a particular one? I read somewhere that 'fish-eye' is what's needed, so HDR Shop might not be fully capable in this respect. Can anyone claim to be an authority on this subject?

Thanks in advance,
Slim

Captain Obvious
05-15-2005, 03:56 PM
Image world uses light probes, I think.

slimbolina
05-16-2005, 04:31 AM
Thanks Captain,

If anyone knows different for sure, please let me know. I might trying to confirm this by doing some experimental renders and zooming in close!

Slim :o

Captain Obvious
05-16-2005, 09:52 AM
I normally use light probes with it and it works as it should... I've never tried with anything else, so I don't know if it works. :p

gerardstrada
05-28-2005, 08:58 PM
Thanks Captain,

If anyone knows different for sure, please let me know. I might trying to confirm this by doing some experimental renders and zooming in close!

Slim :o

Yes, Captain Obvious is right. AngularMap is the way to go. However, to obtain a result 100% ACCURATE, is not enough with using a simple light probes (180x360 degrees) from a chrome ball. Imageworld has been made to map lightprobe images created taking 2 photographs from a mirrored ball at ninety degrees of separation and assembling these two radiance maps so that we have an image that represents complete 360×360 degrees of the environment. With this type of lightprobes, ImageWorld works perfectly.