PDA

View Full Version : How do you move objects in Layout in fine increments?



seoulman
05-13-2005, 10:12 AM
How do you move objects in Layout in fine increments? It gets frustrating trying to position something and it skips and above and below where you're trying to position it.

I've always had to type things numerically to move them in smaller increments then the interface allows me to drag with the mouse (in my case, the pen tablet)

Is there an easier way to do this without having to type in coordinates?

Castius
05-13-2005, 11:24 AM
adjust your grid size keyboard short cuts are "[" "]"
or use the graph editor.

paulhart
05-13-2005, 01:26 PM
In addition to prior post, I find that it helps to select the object that I want to move, then zoom in.... the more I zoom in, the smaller the increments the objects moves. I can get very precise this way without going numeric...

gjjackson
05-13-2005, 01:41 PM
It sounds like you have snaps on. You can try Grid Snap in Display properties to either Fine or None. I usually turn off grid snaps.

edit: I was thinking modeller. It was on my mind since I'm in the process of modelling and searching the forums on a question.

seoulman
05-24-2005, 12:28 PM
Thanks, I've been out of town so I didn't get to check this post until now. I don't know what I would do without these discussion forums to learn Lightwave from.