PDA

View Full Version : Help making a 3d globe - wire



GeNeSCO
05-12-2005, 03:54 PM
I would like to recreate a globe like this(http://www.theobjectworks.com/portfolio/images/Wire_Framed_Globe.jpg) in LW7.5 This is actually a physical modle mage of plastic and painted.
Help please - I'm a newbie so if you can help please take it slow.

Carm3D
05-12-2005, 05:17 PM
You mean like this?

http://www.carm3d.net/Media/Globe.JPG

:p

This model took me forever to make. It's using Sub_D's.

GeNeSCO
05-12-2005, 06:11 PM
Yeah just like that. How did you go about it. have you got a tutorial or some steps I could follow?

Carm3D
05-12-2005, 06:21 PM
No time to make tutorials..

One tip I can give you is that most of the maps you find on the internet will be distorted.. It's rare to find a political globe image that is flattened out to a perfect rectagle "grid."

So the solution is to use a suitably large map and model the grid shape that closely follows the shape as presented in the image. UV-Map the image so that the latitude and longitude lines match up with your model. Then make a morph map to "straighten out" the globe lines into a perfect grid. Once you have the land masses in this form, render it out to an image you can use for trace-modeling.

I do not envy you in this project. It's a heck of alot of work.. Hope you're getting paid for it. I suggest modeling this with Sub-D's. You'll need to fill the land shapes with a nice grid-like pattern so it makes a nice globe in the end.

Once you have the land masses modeled, then you can use the BEND tool in modeler; twice. Once to bend the longitude lines so you get a semi-tube shape. Make sure you have reference geometry at the north and south poles so you know how much to bend. Then again to bend this shape into a sphere.

If you are as much of a newbie as you sound, it would be 5000 times easier you for you map a black and white clip-map onto a double-sided sphere. the land masses will have no thickness, but it's much, MUCH less work.

Good luck.

GeNeSCO
05-12-2005, 06:29 PM
Thanks for the advice, I will give it a try and let you see the results. I'm not too afraid of hard work, just needed to be set off in the right direction ..... Here goes!

GeNeSCO
05-12-2005, 06:32 PM
Will this politcal globe be good enough? At least as a starting point?

Carm3D
05-12-2005, 06:37 PM
No.. U need the lad&long lines as guides, and the northern hemisphere looks all smooshed.

nemac4
05-12-2005, 08:26 PM
If you don't mind cheating a bit you could do it like this...
I used a clip map, displacement map and bump map,.. all the same image though. You would likly need an image higher rez than the one I used. But it's fast.

GeNeSCO
05-13-2005, 12:37 AM
any ideas where i can find a suitable high res image?

parm
05-13-2005, 05:32 AM
In the content that ships with Lightwave is a good satelite image of the earth:

Content>Classic Content>Images>Geography>Earth>EarthSurface.tga

You could take the Earth surface into Illustrator and trace the outline of the land masses. Export the file as an Illustrator 8 eps, which can then be imported into Lightwave. Where you could easily spherise and extrude the vectorised image.

The sphere cage is easier to do. Just create a sphere with the number of segments or sides of your choice.

Then select all the polygons that make up the sphere.

Press b for Bevel, press n For numeric, leave shift at zero type an inset of your choice,
(Try 50mm for a 1m sphere), make sure New Surface is checked. After dropping the tool delete the still selected polys.

You should be left with a cage, find a way to thicken it.

Hope this gets you started

Parm

GeNeSCO
05-13-2005, 06:31 AM
thanks for the advice will try this, sounds a bit easier too

GeNeSCO

noiseboy
05-13-2005, 07:32 AM
find a way to thicken it.

Parm

go on... find a way....then let me know how in LW

Colin

SCS5
05-13-2005, 07:42 AM
Thickener2....... You should find it here

http://www.blochi.com/gfx/thickener_en.html

nemac4
05-13-2005, 09:11 AM
These might help you:

http://www.nemac4.com/files/EarthSurface.ai

http://www.nemac4.com/files/EarthSurface.psd

jds580s
05-13-2005, 09:47 AM
You can also download the free 3d model of the continents from 3d cafe
http://3dcafe.com/models/continents.zip

I spent a few min cleaning it up

Thickened the geometry

Gave it a metal surface out of the preset shelf and ended up with this in about 5min

I'm sure you could make it nicer by rounding out the edges and lighting it better.
Then all you need to do is make the long and lat lines.

Justin

parm
05-14-2005, 12:50 AM
go on... find a way....then let me know how in LW

Colin

To thicken in Lightwave alone: Copy your object to the clipboard, Flip the polys on the remaining object, Smooth Shift, with zero offset,(right click), Smooth Scale as desired.
Paste original object, Merge points.

Btw GeNeSCO having done this, 50mm is way too much more like 10.

Parm