PDA

View Full Version : Does anyone get artifacts when doing a camera fly through of hypervoxels cloud volume



marinello2003
05-12-2005, 09:07 AM
Does anyone get artifacts when doing a camera fly through of hypervoxels cloud volumemetrics?

When I try to fly my camera through hypervoxels and I use a gradient distance to camera dissolve (in the HVs dissolve texture panel), I get horrible hard line clipps where the HVs intersect the camera's clipping plane. The HVs essentially are NOT dissolving the way they should be.

Anyone else have this issue?

As a test, add a null object and apply some volumetric cloud HVs to it. Then place the camera somewhere inside the cloud and see if you get artifacts where the cloud intersects the camera clipping plane.

Then try adding a gradient distance to camera dissolve and see if they dissolve as they should.

marinello2003
05-17-2005, 02:14 PM
http://us.f1f.yahoofs.com/bc/5ba0cdc/bc/artifact/cameraclip.jpg?bfUHliCBTlJnjwBS

Here is a still frame showing the artifacts.

Help Please!

serge
05-18-2005, 03:54 PM
Yes, I have the same problem. It suddenly changes into a very ugly render. I turned up the quality settings, and it does help, but the rendertime gets impossible.

Edit: BTW the link you gave doesn't work for me.

SplineGod
05-19-2005, 09:37 AM
Try using volumetric hypervoxels and then baking them.

lillmagnus
05-23-2005, 07:43 AM
You can use sphere around your camera, pushing the particles away so they don't get to close to the camera, thet usually helps...

/lillmagnus

marinello2003
05-23-2005, 01:23 PM
Try using volumetric hypervoxels and then baking them.

Thanks Larry. Can you tell me how do you bake hypervoxels? I just emailed you my scene file.

Cheers,

Brent

marinello2003
05-23-2005, 01:27 PM
You can use sphere around your camera, pushing the particles away so they don't get to close to the camera, thet usually helps...

/lillmagnus

i am not using particles at all. i am using single point polys and nulls with HVs attached.

SplineGod
05-23-2005, 01:28 PM
Set your HVs to Volume mode. Go to the Shading----->Basic and youll see a button for bake object. :)

marinello2003
05-28-2005, 11:21 AM
Larry,

The baked HVs are rendering out as black when baked. I checked each baked movie and they were all black. I might have done something wrong.

-Brent

SplineGod
05-28-2005, 11:25 AM
As soon as you bake you should see the results immediately. If you try and play the quicktime it creates outside LW you probably will see black :)

marinello2003
05-31-2005, 07:02 PM
It is black in LW too when baked. I sent you the scene file. Are you able to make it work? The other thing I noticed when baking it was that the largest res was 400X400X400. Is that high enough for a 2k output?

marinello2003
06-01-2005, 06:33 AM
Ideally I would like to see NT resolve this issue so it just works! This is a bug in the renderer.

marinello2003
06-02-2005, 01:13 PM
Now if only LW had this my problems would be solved....

http://www.cgtalk.com/showthread.php?t=241584&page=1&pp=15

Brötje
05-28-2012, 05:06 AM
I found the solution for this problem! Just enable the "Fixed Near Clip Dist" in the volumetrics tab and give it a value of 0 meters. And all will be fixed.

Well, that just took a little over 7 years to get solved. :)

prometheus
05-29-2012, 06:40 AM
Aren´t baking Hv´s kind of crappy in end results, and I thought it was broken for 64 bit at least?

Michael

prometheus
05-29-2012, 06:42 AM
http://us.f1f.yahoofs.com/bc/5ba0cdc/bc/artifact/cameraclip.jpg?bfUHliCBTlJnjwBS

Here is a still frame showing the artifacts.

Help Please!

Can you please post a working link to the images, or better still..post a videoclip on youtube or vimeo?

Michael