PDA

View Full Version : select object or objects...

at_626
05-11-2005, 05:12 PM
hi, i am new to lw... about a week now... and loved it!
but couple of questions... wondering can lw select an object/model at one click, and move freely around x, y, z(like in maya click and move bascially...) without go through ^polygon, connected and move tool(t) etc etc... i found that quite annoying go through select polygon and connected and move and have to click on clear area to deselect again... :( can just select the whole object/polygon at once, specially in same layer will getting really confusing with many objects... any advices will be much appreciated. :o

thankssssss :)

BeeVee
05-12-2005, 01:43 AM
You can use Drag (Ctrl t) with a falloff.

B

Surrealist.
05-12-2005, 04:41 AM
That's got to be one of the greatest tips lately.

Select the drag tool and have numeric panel open, then select Polygon as the fall off on the drop down list.

Then any object (contigous polys) you touch allows you to move just it.

Brilliant!

However, it won't work in shaded or perspective views, so I am not sure if it is the item asked for.

But brilliant just the same.

BeeVee
05-12-2005, 04:56 AM
If you are in a shaded mode you can drag by the centre of a single poly, if you are in wireframe you need to grab an edge or vertex, if you set the falloff to Radial Points and change the amount to 9999 then you will be able to move any connected geometry in a layer (that isn't more than 10,000m away!)

B
PS. You can do the same with Move and Rotate as well, just set the falloff and you don't have to select anything...

PPS. LightWave has had these abilities since v6.5b at least and probably from before...

SCS5
05-12-2005, 05:35 AM
fantastic!! Nice job BeeVee. Now, can we setup or make a button with these defaults for Move, Rotate, etc.

bcicio
05-12-2005, 07:25 AM