PDA

View Full Version : For those who have both - MAC OR PC?

frostywd
05-11-2005, 12:50 AM
I don't need the MAC priests or the PC soldiers here starting a flame war. I'm looking to purchase a decked out Duel G5 or a Dell workstation and I thought I would get some advice from you guys. I've never owned a MAC but they are starting to catch my interest and since I'm new to lightwave/3d I thought a complete flipping of my world might be in order. I am working mostly on floorplan models and community fly-throughs. A complete newb I am but learning quick. 3dgarage.com's signature course get my recommendation.

For those of you who use PC's AND Mac's and don't own stock in either company could you give me your personal preference? Since this is a 5500.00 investment it's going to be my primary workstation for the next 2 years I thought someone out there could give me some good points to consider. I am due another laptop at work and it just might be a powerbook if I like the MAC's, I must say that the Tiger platform looks very impressive from a creative standpoint.

Let loose the hounds!

Sorry, but I know this is like talking about religion, women, and politics at the same time in a bar full of drunks - someone is going to get hurt.

:)

Seriously, thanks for any constructive input.

Bill

Captain Obvious
05-11-2005, 01:30 AM
Best solution: stationary PC (preferably home-built, since "store-bought" workstation PCs are often twice as expensive as a home-built with the same exact parts) and a PowerBook.

As for Tiger, it's a great OS. Definitely the best I've ever used, even relatively speaking. But it's not like you really*notice a difference inside Lightwave...

Oh, and it's "Mac," not "MAC." The latter is "Media Access Control," the former is "Macintosh." ;)

jrd
05-11-2005, 06:39 AM