PDA

View Full Version : Which permissions VT need to run?



eon5
04-24-2003, 01:41 PM
IN a W2K OS... only Administrator will work with VT?

Like "User" VT up popped this message

Microsoft Visual C++ Runtime Library
Runtime Error
C:/videoToaster2/T[2].exe
abnormal program termination
----------------------------------------
The PC running VT is a P4 2.0GHz 1GB RAM
Video board with 128MB RAM
HD IDE UDMA
The OS is Win2K Pro - SP3.

The workstation log to Windows 2K Server DOMAIN, that autentify the users.
There isnt (in normal conditions), user declared in local way.

Any user with Administrator permissions can acces to VT, AffEfects, Combustion and so on...
BUT without Administrator permissions the users cant open any program (the user every time are Domain users).

VT2: C++ Microsfot Library error
The anothers programs: This program generated an error... blabla.

--> The problem:

I CANT change the users permissions to admins, the company (is a online TV Channel) security insues dont let me do this...

How I can run VT and the another programs with user domain security levels?

Or... which exactly are the permisions that i will change the acounts to run VT?

THANKS in advance and best regards.

jcupp
04-25-2003, 09:53 AM
Uninstall the Toaster software then reinstall using the Build 3890 Full version (don't use a patch). This will install the Toaster driver as a Windows service and should allow it to work without administrator privledges.

eon5
04-25-2003, 10:38 AM
You are TAH MAN!! ;)

/edit
sorry... i cant find the full version to download, only this one:

VTP3890.zip - This update is installed directly on top of standard Video Toaster® [2] full-release version (details below).

my OS is a W2K (not WxP)... where is the VTP3890 FULL-W2K download link?

Tkx in advance

Lew
04-25-2003, 02:14 PM
I had a similar problem and had our IT folks set me up a local log in that disconnects from the net and does not interact with the security system. When I need the network, I can close the VT and log on as a network user. Might be something to try.
Hope this helps,
Lew

Paul Lara
04-25-2003, 07:16 PM
Originally posted by eon5
You are TAH MAN!! ;)

Yes, yes he is.


where is the VTP3890 FULL-W2K download link?

Tkx in advance

Since it's more than 600MB, you need to contact NewTek customer service, who will gladly ship you a 3890 CD for $29.95 US.

dejwy
04-29-2003, 02:33 AM
VT2 work oin W2k only if user have Administrator privileges!


Only VT3 will be working as normal user beacause driver is installed as service (see what new in VT3)

Paul Lara
04-29-2003, 06:43 AM
Originally posted by dejwy
Only VT3 will be working as normal user beacause driver is installed as service

That's not correct.
Video Toaster [2], if installed from the full 3890 CD, will also install as a service.

dejwy
04-29-2003, 06:48 AM
But for users that have older CD is this option not possible - updated driver dont work as service.

Why is for legal users full version 3890 not available for download?

hgiorgi
05-07-2003, 11:39 AM
Hello Paul,

My company is Video Toaster reseller in Argentina.

I have a customer with this "permisions" problem that I need to solve right away. Is there any ftp site where I can download the full 3890 build? They are not willing to pay an extra 50-70 bucks for a new cd+shipping to Argentina+customs+time.

Thank you

Hugo Giorgi
Digital Wings
Buenos Aires
Argentina

jcupp
05-07-2003, 12:46 PM
If you have new Toaster come through it will have the 3890 build CD. Failing that call Irene at NewTek, I think they had a full build posted for authorized resellers on the FTP site.

eon5
05-14-2003, 01:02 PM
Originally posted by Paul Lara
Video Toaster [2], if installed from the full 3890 CD, will also install as a service.

Well... finally we got the 3890 FULL CD, but we are still having the same problem.

This is when I try to open VT2 like Advanced User
http://www.digital-wings.com.ar/pub/pics/runtime.jpg

And this when i try to open AAEffect (like example)
http://www.digital-wings.com.ar/pub/pics/error.jpg

what is wrong now, or... which are the step by step procedures to solve it.

thanks in advance.

eon5
05-19-2003, 12:30 PM
Originally posted by Paul Lara
Video Toaster [2], if installed from the full 3890 CD, will also install as a service.

In W2K doesnt work! :(


what about WinXP?

Paul Lara
05-23-2003, 01:48 PM
Originally posted by eon5
In W2K doesnt work! :(


what about WinXP?

The new video Toaster service is designed for XP compatibility, yes, but it should still function with Win2k.

eon5
05-26-2003, 09:00 AM
Is it necessary to changing any configuration to meka it work under w2k?

Because i can not make it working in any way :(

eon5
06-11-2003, 12:59 PM
I check device manager in windows and VT2 card is NOT rocognized.

Win2k + Service pack 3
Installing with CD 3890 FULL
And CORE UPDATE OK

What i must do!?

pleaseeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeee heeelppppppppppp!

eon5
06-13-2003, 03:03 PM
makinf regcleaner and with a 3890 FULL instalation... now VT2 IS rocognized!

but... I STILL CANT run VT2 like Advanced Users.

VT2 ONLY work logged like Adminstrator!

eon5
09-22-2003, 08:38 PM
SWEEEEETTTTTT!! ;)

At last VT3 work without administrator priviledges...


tkx Newtek! :D

eon5
03-02-2005, 08:38 AM
Is there some way to modify my system configuration to be an administrator equivalent from VT perspective in Win2k/XP Pro?

Yes (under Win XP Pro or Win 2K).
This can be accomplished by setting certain privileges for the user that will run the program.
To do this, first temporarily log in as an Administrator.

Then go to Control Panel => Administrative Tools => Local Security Policy.
This will open up the Local Security setting window.
Expand the Local Policies folder and select User Rights Assignment. This will bring up a list of security settings for the computer.

You will need to add the user that will be launching the VT to have the following privileges.
If the user is logged in while making changes, the user must be logged out and back in for the changes to take effect.

* Debug Programs
* Load and unload device drivers
* Manage auditing and security log
* Modify Firmware environment values
* Profile Single Process

This is done by double clicking on the setting and then the "Add User or Group" button.
You can either type the user or group name into the field or click on advanced to select from a list.
If you select advanced, you may need to click on the "Object Types" button and make sure all 3 boxes are checked.
Then click "OK".

Click on the "Find Now" button to generate a full list of all users and groups on the system.
Highlight the user you want to add the rights to and click "OK".
Keep clicking "OK" untill you are back at the Local Security Settings window.
Repeat this process for the rest of the list.
That user will now be able to use VT without errors.