PDA

View Full Version : New iMac g5 2.0ghz



waverguy
05-04-2005, 09:24 PM
Any thoughts on the new iMac G5 and the use of LW?

Thanks....

harlan
05-04-2005, 09:42 PM
It's a great box. They did an incredible job on the new iMacG5 revision. I highly recommend them. Get one, throw in some RAM, and kick some CG ***! :)

LW will work fine on it. It's nice to see them ship it with a 128MB VRAM GPU.

toby
05-04-2005, 11:14 PM
double-layer dvd burning too - it's a movie-ripping station :D

harlan
05-05-2005, 12:38 AM
double-layer dvd burning too - it's a movie-ripping station :D


Yup, but SHHHHHHH... You mean it's a movie-"Playing" station!! :)


Dual-Layer DVD is cool and all, but it's really not all it's cracked up to be just yet due to the price of the Discs and that they don't play in all DVD players (kinda like the early days of DVD burning). :) These are issues with all DL DVD burners btw, not just with the Mac. Disc prices & compatibility will obviously get better in the future.

Captain Obvious
05-05-2005, 01:45 AM
It has enough RAM, it has a "good enough" graphics card, it has gigabit ethernet... awesome upgrade.

parm
05-05-2005, 01:56 PM
Agreed, this is a brilliant upgrade to the iMac range. 128 megabyte graphics card, Bluetooth and Airport pre installed. 512 RAM, Great.

Buy one now. I certainly would. If I hadn't already bought a 23 inch cinema display some weeks ago, in anticipation of the, what now seems a slightly underwhelming, update to the Power Mac G5 tower range.

Parm

somnambulance
05-05-2005, 04:15 PM
I got a G5 power mac with 512 ram and 64 video ram. Last night I had a scene with 400,000 polys, no sub-d's, and it was lagging hard. I am going to drop $300 on a 128 video card and 1 GB memory.

toby
05-05-2005, 05:51 PM
Dual-Layer DVD is cool and all, but it's really not all it's cracked up to be just yet due to the price of the Discs and that they don't play in all DVD players
That blows, we can already play 8gb dvd's, is dual-layer not the same?

Captain Obvious
05-08-2005, 12:21 PM
That blows, we can already play 8gb dvd's, is dual-layer not the same?
It can burn dual-layer disks.




I got a G5 power mac with 512 ram and 64 video ram. Last night I had a scene with 400,000 polys, no sub-d's, and it was lagging hard. I am going to drop $300 on a 128 video card and 1 GB memory.
If you're going to shell out $300 on a video card, you might as well get a 256MB one. ;) Regardless, it probably won't make a big difference. Lightwave is not very video card dependant.

toby
05-08-2005, 08:40 PM
It can burn dual-layer disks.
Yes I know, I'm wondering about compatibility. If what Harlan said about low compatibility is true, then it must be a different format than the 8gb dvds that we can all play now - like the Incredibles which is 7.74gb.

somnambulance
05-08-2005, 09:48 PM
If you're going to shell out $300 on a video card, you might as well get a 256MB one. ;) Regardless, it probably won't make a big difference. Lightwave is not very video card dependant.

Its going to be just over $300 for the both. I think (I am really not sure) my video memory is what is the problem; when I try and rotate and zoom and what not I have a lag. I want to spend as little as possible to have a good workflow, which brings my comment back to the title of the thred :D I think the iMac are great, I had one at my station for a while last summer and it did very well next to my G5 dual that was almost double the cost (after monitor).

waverguy
05-10-2005, 09:14 PM
I want to thank everyone who replied to my question about the new iMacs. I think I will be getting one very soon. Thanks again....