PDA

View Full Version : Setting default camera

stib
05-04-2005, 03:23 AM
I remember reading it somewhere, but I can't find where..

How can I edit my Preferences file so that when I start up layout the camera resolution is set to D1 PAL instead of SVGA?

And while I'm in your face, is there a place for putting scripts so they get executed at atartup. I seem to remember that being possible too. I'd love to be able to do what I alwaysdo upon starting a new scene: set the camera resolution, target the camera to a null, and set my field dominance and AA settings.

SVGA?? Who uses SVGA as a resolution? Maybe it's a gamerr thing I dunno.

Surrealist.
05-04-2005, 01:27 PM
Hi, you sound like a programer and a mac guy, I am neither but I was working on this last night as there were some, programmer savy tips along this line in the book I own, LW 81001 tips and tricks.

However, two of the ideas didn't work for me(which is why I am not a programer) so I won't bother passing them on, though they both incorporated the idea of creating a scene file with your settings and having it automatically load.

One simple and workable solution is to create that scene w/ your settings and have a shortcut on your desk top and simply open the file and it will launch LW. That one of course worked. How could it not. On the mac of course it's a little different but you get the idea.

The other tips had to do with the properties pannel of the LW shortcut icon on your (PC) desk top were you put a line in the target field that tells lightwave to open a scene. And finally editing the LW8 config file and adding a startup command with a reference to that scene. Along with this one was the idea to enter the name of a generic L script in place of the scene file, so it will lauch at startup.

Maybe this will jog your memory.

Different on the mac of course. According to the book I don't think you can do that last one on the mac.