PDA

View Full Version : animation problems

kqmen
05-02-2005, 12:43 PM
hello I am a newbie to lightwave
I have a scene with lots of gears and other things on it (like the inside of and old clock) when I bring it to layout in lightwave I try to rotate my gears but it also rotate the rest of the stuff on the layer (i model using various layer) also when I try to rotate my gears they rotate funny like the pivot point is somewhere far, same with scaling and streching (the object moves from the position I set it on as it scales or stretches) even when I use local or hold the control button.
do I need to save my gears one by one (as separate objects) to animate them on layout ? this was very easy on other 3d software I have used I hope there is an easier way to do this, I cant find tutorials animating more than one object in a scene.
thank you :D

evenflcw
05-02-2005, 03:13 PM
You have two options as I see it.

The first option is to place each gear in it's own layer and center the pivot for each layer to it's respective gear. Meshes in LW aren't separate objects to start with, so you need to use layers to tell them apart. Furthermore, each layer has it's own pivot. And by default the pivot for each layer is at origo. If you want it anywhere else you have to move it their manually. LW will not autocenter it around the geometry! You can adjust the pivot in both Layout and Modeler, but it's probably easiest and more exact to do it in Modeler using the Move Pivot Tool (or something like this http://www.flay.com/GetDetail.cfm?ID=942 ).

The second option is to keep all gears in the same layer and instead use weightmaps to tell them apart and later assign each gear to it's own bone and animate the bones.

I think the first option would be best in your case, as the other solution might be abit of an overkill in this situation.

Be sure to use the Layer Browser in Modeler for a better overview and to give each layer a unique name.