PDA

View Full Version : texture errors on a mac mini

Macarthur
04-19-2005, 02:19 PM
Hi guys, I'm trying to render a mac mini and I'm having some texture weirdness

I'm an uber noob and need explaining really really slowly :)
I spent around 4 hours getting the shape right trying various methods then got it perfect.
I ended up using the rounder on a box deleting the unnecisary geometry for the corners and making polys of the top and bottoms.
(I think that this may have something to do with it but I really don't know.)

Ive started texturing and for some reason the texture along the top is giving me lots of grief. I'm not good enough to troubleshoot so I thought I would cry out to the masses here. :D

OK, so here is the picture of how it looks in layout
Http://www.flamingmonarch.com/preview.jpg

and here's what it renders
http://www.flamingmonarch.com/whatitrenders.jpg

The settings are a bit weird if I have luminosity at 0 everything is black, if I have it at 100 its pure white but shows the texture perfectly in preview.

I've used the auto scaling which has done a great job on all the other textures in the image and shows this texture to be a good size.

Here's the settings http://www.flamingmonarch.com/settings.jpg

I have recreated the texture in several file formats, and various sizes.

I don't think its the texture itself but how its displayed.
it could also be the top poly I created it by selecting every point along the top in a clockwise maner and Create>polygon>create polygon
like it says in the help, so its one poly for the top and its planar afaik.

Theres also this little white line around the top and bottom polys and I'm not sure what that is or how to make it go away.

one other question,
is there a way to make an infinite floor easily or do I just make a large flat mesh and pretend that its infinite.

If you need to see or read any different settings than the ones I have posted let me know so that I may assist you further.