PDA

View Full Version : Uncompressed Quicktime Capture



camthecameraman
04-23-2003, 01:55 AM
Can I capture an uncompressed Quicktime file using the toaster, I tried today and couldnt see my way through.

I have a specialised encoder running on a MAC and want to be able to use a Toaster to capture files for it. I cannot load the encoder onto a PC machine yet but ultimately will. I need to capture straight from a SX8 to a uncompressed PAL QT at 768x576 25fps Audio needs to be Stereo 22Kz 16 bits

Any help would be appreciated as I am getting desparate, I may even have to buy a Final Cut Pro system!!! Any ideas????

ScorpioProd
04-23-2003, 03:30 AM
Except for conversions through Aura or LW, Toaster doesn't support QuickTime.

SBowie
04-23-2003, 05:53 AM
Eugene is right. I think the best you could hope for would be some method to batch convert from one of the formats that IS supported to .MOV.

ted
04-23-2003, 07:22 AM
If you can get video into the encoder, couldn' the Mac record it from the Toaster out?
I have a GC encoder on another PC and that's how you would do it there. It happened to be a PC, but I would imagine if the Mac had the encoding software, it would be the same principal.

Hell, I might upgrade my old Mac if you can tell us what software you're using? I need "Quick", Quicktime for one of my clients also.

SBowie
04-23-2003, 07:45 AM
Good point, Ted. Sometimes we get so 'into the software' we forget that the Toaster's image quality is such that there is always the REAL 'realtime' aternative!

camthecameraman
04-23-2003, 07:02 PM
the encoder doesnt create uncompressed quicktimes it requires them for the encode to a specialised file we are using so sorry Ted.

I will give Aura a go even though I have never used it. Can anyone tell me, is it quick, I will be doing files 20-60minutes and cant wait forever.

Also will Toaster 3 have quicktime support or am I just showing my ignorance?

Thanks for all the advice so far

Faraz
04-23-2003, 08:56 PM
20-30 minute files will take awfully long!

ted
04-24-2003, 12:00 AM
And unfortunately, is seems like the QT thing won't be in VT anytime soon. Unless NewTek surprises me big time. Which wouldn't be a first.

ScorpioProd
04-24-2003, 12:27 AM
If QT is your required product, I really don't think Toaster is the best product for you to be using.

I don't see real QT support coming any time soon. And yeah, it would take a while through Aura.

Nat Lyman
04-24-2003, 08:28 AM
QT Pro import help reads as follows: QuickTime can import multiple formats of several types of files. File formats you can import include the following:

Video formats: AVI, DV, Motion JPEG, MPEG-1, MPEG-2, and MPEG-4.

Audio formats: AIFF/AIFC, Audio CD, MP3, Sound Designer II, System 7 Sound, uLaw (AU), and WAV

Still image formats: BMP, GIF, JPEG/JFIF, MacPaint, PICT, PNG, Photoshop (with layers), SGI, Targa, FlashPix, and TIFF

Animation formats: 3DMF, Animated GIF, FLC/FLI, Flash, and PICS

Other formats: KAR (Karaoke), MIDI, QuickDraw GX, QuickTime Image File, Text

why not render out your toaster project as an avi on your pc, buy QT Pro for pc for $30, and import into QT on the PC?