PDA

View Full Version : How-To: Autoselect VTEdit script

John Perkins
04-13-2005, 07:26 PM
Here's an example of using callbacks, mouse actions and the switcher. It's written for the total noobie and should help get someone off to a decent start on quite a few subjects.

The result is a script that will put whatever VT Edit window you are using onto Main In so that you can see it on the monitor. If the switcher is open, it will act normally.

I did this because I tend to use multiple VT Edit windows. Sometimes the CG or capture will kick VTEdit off of main in too. You get really tired of manually placing your windows onto main in so this speeds up the workflow a lot.

Place this in:

C:\VT4\Skins\VideoEditor\MainWindow\Main\User Scripts

so that our script will only effect VT Edit windows.

Call it autoselect.ToasterScript
Any name will work, but it should end in .ToasterScript

// Autoselect this module onto Main In when the Switcher is inactive

AddCallback(MouseEnter, code(
if(!IsPluginRunning("Switcher_Tabbed"))
PlaceOntoMainIn() )
)

The first line:

is called a comment. Anything after // will be ignored by ToasterScript.

Be nice and let people know what the script does. Scripts can get complicated and what makes perfect sense to you now may not a year from now.

AddCallback() tells this module that from now on, it will pay attention for some action to take place. This can be a mouse action, a timer, GPI trigger or any number of things. You can find this in section 2.4 of the ToasterScript2 docs.

In this case we are looking for the mouse to be within the VTEdit window.

AddCallback(MouseEnter, code() )

Whatever you want to happen will be placed within the () after the word code.

The next line is a little more complicated, but easy once you know how to read it.

if(something is true) do something

That is the basic format. The ! means to negate, or if(something is NOT true)