04-12-2005, 11:33 AM
I have a sphere with the following properties:

Color: 218 218 218
Luminosity: 0
Diffuse: 100
Specularity: 4
Reflection: 20
and the rest at 0

What I'm trying to do is a scene in which a chrome sphere, with white text on it, is lying in the corner of a ceiling-less room and reflecting the stormy sky above. I'm not experienced at this and I can never get my reflections to look good. I must admit I have no clue what I'm doing.

What I attempted was to make a spherical reflection map with default attributes on the sphere, but it ends up covering up the white text. The sky reflection is supposed to be subtle and muted but instead it seems like the sphere was painted that way.

To try and help matters, I turned on caustics, radiosity, high anti-aliasing, and orange-tinted(because the sky is orangy) global illumination with 30% ambiance but it still generally looks like crap.

Here's the sky map:
http://img139.echo.cx/my.php?image=clouds8jm.png

the sphere's texture:
http://img139.echo.cx/my.php?image=balltext1vj.png

I'll post the render I have so far in a few minutes when it's done. Hopefully you can give me some insight? Tips? Any advice to make it look more realistic.

Kanephan
04-12-2005, 12:43 PM
Here it is

http://img69.echo.cx/img69/792/render16tb.jpg

As you can see, it looks pretty awful. Any tips would be appreciated.

a3dmind
04-12-2005, 01:13 PM
First of all use a Lightwave preset for the chrome ball as a start. You can learn a lot by tweaking those parameters. Use spot with shadow map or area light to soften your shadows. In render panel choose raytrace reflections(and also in the surface properties of the object).

Turn off radiosity until you get your surfaces right, then play with lighting your scene.

Kanephan
04-12-2005, 01:38 PM
Here's something else I tried. This came out a lot better...

http://img69.echo.cx/img69/4231/render27oz.jpg

Intuition
04-12-2005, 03:21 PM
Tips.