PDA

View Full Version : Pocket Watch



Wah17
04-08-2005, 04:16 AM
Hie ppl,

I am newbie in lightwave.


Will be popping a lot of questions regarding this project i am working on.

I made a pocket watch. But i encounter some problems in layout.

I would like to ask, is there any shortcut keys or what are the ways i can rotate all my objects at one go.

I tried selecting all of the objects and rotate my pocket watch, the alignment for the objects went off. currently my pocket watch is lying on flat on the surface. i would like to rotate it to 90 degrees?

Thanks

bcicio
04-08-2005, 06:48 AM
Change your Action Center (Mode button at the bottom of your screen) to "Selection".

Then, make sure all of the layers that contain the objects you want to rotate are turned on, put your mouse over the appropriate viewport, and hit the "r" key.

Tim Parsons
04-08-2005, 02:12 PM
Your in Layout not Modeler, right? In Layout add a null and parent any objects you want to rotate together to that null. Now when you select and rotate the null the other objects will follow.

Tim

bcicio
04-08-2005, 02:35 PM
Oops, Sorry. Was thinking you had parts on different layers in modeler. Gotta get my terminology straight.

Wah17
04-08-2005, 10:27 PM
Thanks bcicio.

I have actually tried ur way, rotating in modeler.

Still a newbie, doesn't even know about parenting.

My lecturer was like saying that changed ur "action center " to mouse
and don't touch it.

Just set once and you don't need to do it anymore.

Had a very short courses of lightwave, still learning but is still not sufficient.
I guess it helps me to learn better when i participate in forum.


Thanks Tim Parsons too.

I will try your way, since i got the right angle i need. I will try your way when i am trying to get the hinge to work.


Any advice, the easiest way to attach a hinge to 2 doors

i have a front and back top for my pocket watch.
Still figuring it out.

After this problem, then i will have to ask you guys tonnes of questions.


Thanks alot

Wah17
04-08-2005, 11:10 PM
Is there a way to delete surface layers in modeler

I press "q" too many times and there's just too much names. Kinda off confuse now.


Just would like to know is there anyway to delete it. Deleting the name,not the object in modeler.

Silkrooster
04-09-2005, 01:32 AM
To attach a hinge, you might try the bridge tool, select a poly from the door and a poly from the hinge then use the bridge tool. Now do the same with the watch and the other half of the hinge. There are several ways to connect objects together, usually the bridge tool is the fastest. When you have questions like this it might be a good idea to post an image of what your doing, then other ideas might be available to you.
As for the surface names, as long as they are not used, they should no longer be there, the next time you start modeler.
Silk

Wah17
04-09-2005, 03:10 AM
where can i find the bridge tool?




Here's a sample of the work i am working on.

As you can see, i m using quite a lot of light but still unable to get the realistic effect. Any advice. I am using all point lights.

http://www.geocities.com/wah17/watch.jpg



For this pocket watch, i will be needing a white background and also some shadows on the floor.

Is it better to do it like the picture that i post or is it better that i create a ball and flip it, then put a platform and my objects in the ball.

Any suggestions?

Silkrooster
04-09-2005, 02:12 PM
The bridge tool is only available in ver 8 and higher. It was available as a plug in, but I don't think they are offering it as a plug in any more.
It is at construct>combine>bridge or lower case l
For your shadows, there are two ways to produce them, first is raytraced shadows, Go to your render options and put a check mark in the box side of shadows.
The second way is shadow map, not all light types support shadow maps. So far I believe only spot lights will create shadow maps. The reason to use shadow maps, is to produce softer shadows, as raytrace normally produces an edge thats seams almost to hard or sharp. The exception to this is using area lights, by parenting a null to an area light and increasing the size of the null, the raytrace shadow can become softer. There are quite a few threads on this forum about making softer raytrace shadows.
For your backdrop, If all you want is a back drop and your not trying to make anything in particular Zoom out a ways, and create an L shape with the spline tool in the side view, giving a nice curve to the L shape. Now extrude this across your objects. Now you have a large back and floor that looks like the large drop cloths they use for photo shoots. Give this backdrop a surface name and apply a procedual and your good to go.
Silk

Wah17
04-14-2005, 09:50 PM
http://www.geocities.com/wah17/error.jpg


Hie guys is me again.

Running out of time from my assignment,so gonna ask some simple questions which i dun seem to have the answers.


As you can see there's my pocket watch design
and do u see the white color piece sticking out.



The reason y it is sticking out is because my circle is not round enough

i tried making a ball or from a disc then i extrude. and tab.
then there's an error appearing saying only 3 or 4 vertices can be subpatched if i m not mistaken./?

any idea people?

kinda of need help from whoever who can respond to me.

i am on yahoo messenger and msn messenger
[email protected] that;s my email.
Thanks GuyS!!

prospector
04-15-2005, 12:29 AM
When making discs or balls ALWAYS use the numeric panel 'n'. it will let you know if your truly circular.

Wah17
04-15-2005, 10:19 PM
Pocket Watch (http://www.geocities.com/wah17/watch.zip)


Hie guys,
been struggling for 2 weeks. with this assignment of mine.

Trying to get my hinge to work so i can animate it, i totally hopeless in this.

And i don';t know how to descrive my problems.

so there go the attachment on the top.

i couldn't get my hinge and my watch cover top n back to work

i manage to get them moving
but then when i open n close either side,

some of the top layer will be seen like eating in the watch area.


u have a look and give me some solutions. the best of course, trying to work it out n send me the file or perhaps a screenshot will do.


Thanks

prospector
04-15-2005, 11:05 PM
Is this what your looking for?
http://www.silkrooster.com/forum/viewtopic.php?p=172#172

Wah17
04-15-2005, 11:17 PM
Not really.

y don;t u try downloading my file.

n maybe u can just try

rotating my the cover
and u will know wat exactly am i facing ..

prospector
04-16-2005, 01:38 AM
OK Here it is back

Working

On yours, you need to fix many things;

Watch body side is double polied...merge them
Letters have around 6 layers of polys.....reset them
Logo backing has around 6 layers of polys...reset them
(some subDing some not)
Hook cover and hinge
hook body and hinge


I renamed the watch so you can load both in modeler and compare the changes
And an AVI too boot

ARRG memory limit hit.

file is on other website

Wah17
04-16-2005, 06:56 AM
thanks a lot, i am opening the file now
However my pc hang.

Everytime i open the file.

i think i lack of memory too.
will check it out

and reveal my revelations to u guys too

Thanks a lot.

Wah17
04-16-2005, 07:29 AM
i've opened the file

amazing how u do it.

I am going to try to do it, coz i want to learn how to do it.
in the meanwhile do u think u can help me make the hinge for the back cover.

i wanted to cut ur hinge n paste to the back hinge. but it looks like is being welded.


However i am trying on my own. but using urs as reference too.

Thanks a lot
Really appreciate it

Wah17
04-16-2005, 07:43 AM
Wow conclusion, this is so difficult. shieks struggling like crazy. still got plenty of animations to do, and i m still stuck in modeler.. ahha.

Okie here's my new set of questions.

"On yours, you need to fix many things;

Watch body side is double polied...merge them "

- watch body side u mean my the side texture right? i select it and click merge, there are errors .


" Letters have around 6 layers of polys.....reset them
" Logo backing has around 6 layers of polys...reset them
(some subDing some not)
Hook cover and hinge
hook body and hinge


What do u mean by resetting it?

i tried making the hook and sticking it to the body.
i tried cutting n paste din't work.
try selecting and smooth shift, the thing just went off.


Do u think u can help me to make the hook for the back of the watch.
At least if while i am learning how to do the hook n hinge, i am already on the safe side at least, i have a watch ready , n i can animate for my multimedia project.


I am actually using this watch as my main interface, i can't start working on it as long my watch can't finish. been doing this for 2 weeks.

struggling with modelling, i only left 1 week to finish the whole cd rom production.
So guys please help me out.

I am going crazy.

prospector
04-16-2005, 10:17 AM
OK try these,

Pic 1.
Shows the ring with doubled polys
select any poly on this ring and then click 'connected' under VIEW.
then cut/paste this ring to a new layer
Click on 'unify polys' under DETAIL>POLYGONS>MORE..
It will eliminate 350 polys
Leave in that layer.


Pic 2

Letters with multi layers

pic any poly in mine (do connected) and cut/paste to a new layer.
see the difference
just the face of letter extruded for thichkness and the front face 'smooth shifted' and resized and moved out a bit for a bevel.


Pic 3 explanation there

Pic 4 Split hinge to 3 parts on it's own layer
then bring a part of watch to go with it on same layer
The center part goes on layer you did ring earlier.

Build some polys to connect hinge part and watch part together
doing front and back of hinge (see mine)
then 'DELETE' the polys inside of new hinge connection (see mine)
Also on hinges, DELETE the disk polys on the ends, and with all the points on the ends of hinges selected, 'Extend' (hit e) them to the center with 'SIZE' (hit H)

do for all 3 parts

Then on mine check a cover (in 3rd layer I think) for pivot point.
VIEW>PIVOT

yours needs to be set up like it
So on your cover layers, go to VIEW>PIVOT and move it to like I have mine,
That sets rotation point for watch flaps.Do both of yours.

Then overall;

I'm looking at winder on top and that big flat poly needs to be gone
so select it and do 'smooth shifts' and 'size' a few times untill it's a point then delete. that will round off the top some and make it look better.
Also do bottom of winder.
On the doors, check mine then on yours select the large polys in center, so 'smooth shift and size till they are point sized and delete

Then put all pieces that go together on the same layer.
look at mine and you'll see but yours will have an extra layer for back flap.

Then in layout, select the flap layers and animate, select the dial hand klayer and animate

prospector
04-16-2005, 09:56 PM
OK after playing with this again, (I got no life), I noticed that your covers are inside the outer case which will not work unless you
A..redesign the case to fit under the lid or hinge at that point
B..redesign the hinge to go over the main body
C..redesign the cover to fit outside the main body

This also goes for the back flap

prospector
04-16-2005, 10:10 PM
lemme try something

prospector
04-16-2005, 10:10 PM
WOO HOO it works!!

Wah17
04-16-2005, 11:14 PM
Thanks a lot.

Sorry for sucking ur entire life.

Let me try.

Thanks man

Wah17
04-18-2005, 09:08 PM
Have a look @ the picture below


I am sure i place the pivot point correctly, but look @ the hand of the watch.

http://www.geocities.com/wah17/layout1.jpg

http://www.geocities.com/wah17/pivot.jpg

prospector
04-18-2005, 11:52 PM
sometimes you have to redo in layout tho mine didn't on this watch but other times I have to.