PDA

View Full Version : Maya V's Lightwave....Which is best

Anoo
04-20-2003, 04:38 PM
I am new to 3D and am considering purchasing either LW or Maya complete mainly for Modelling organic models and wanted some opinions from lightwave users as to which is best for the job and why? Thanks for any advice.

mix
04-20-2003, 04:53 PM
Lightwaves the best for everything, nothing can beat it, its the king of 3D, there is none better, don't bother looking at any thing els, you want Lightwave.

OK newtek, can I have my LW 7.5c update now?.:D

hrgiger
04-20-2003, 10:07 PM
You can't really ask a question like that in a Lightwave forum and expect an objective answer. Most people are going to tell you Lightwave.

I can tell you this though. First of all, Lightwave is cheaper to buy and cheaper to upgrade. That's good enough for me.
I can also tell you that from what I understand, I've heard that a lot of people who use both LW and Maya do so because they like the modeling better in Lightwave. In fact, I've heard quite a bit of people buying Lightwave simply for it's modeler and then using another program to animate and/or render with. Not that you can't animate or render in LW because Lightwave's renders have always been good, especially for an out of the box renderer.

Freak
04-21-2003, 04:30 AM
They are getting more even by the day....

Maya will take you longer to learn, and won't allow unlimited render nodes. LW would also have one of the best Modelers around.

Maya has advantages in Animation, and programability,
and most likely some advantages in Games production.
Usually the best comes from Maya when you have a team of Programmers and Mel Scripters to make it do what you want.

I'd still choose LW, as the better Modeler....
And still better overall and way better for freelancers or small business type users.

My $.20

Mylenium
04-21-2003, 05:51 AM
To Freak: