PDA

View Full Version : dual monitors with radeon 9800se?



twine
03-16-2005, 03:01 AM
Im trying to establish if i can run two monitors at the same time? i have a radeon 9800se with 128mb ram. it only has one port for a monitor, and i cant work out if my pc has another monitor port. can anyone shed some light on this subject?

twine
03-16-2005, 03:14 AM
I mis-worded that slightly. I am only trying to establish my graphic card capabilities and not if anyone knows what is at the back of my pc

mkiii
03-17-2005, 08:38 PM
I may have got the wrong end of the stick here, but if your video card only has one video out port then you can only have one monitor unless you get a fancy multiway splitter... which only gives the same display on all the monitors anyway.

if your mobo has graphics built in, I assume it would have to be disabled to let your current card work at all. AFAIK you cant run 2 graphics cards along side each other on a PC.

The 9800 pro has one normal D connector & one digital out for flat panel displays etc ( the white rectangular type) - if you have both of these, you just attach an adapter to the FPD connector to convert it to a D connector & run 2 crt monitors. An adapter would have been supplied with your card normally if one was required.

twine
03-18-2005, 12:23 PM
i only have one monitor port, my g/card is an aiw radeon 9800se. looks like im stuffed, although i was wondering if i could attach a tft tv to the s-video port on the g/card. Does anyone know if this might work?

phil lawson
03-18-2005, 01:06 PM
Most of the 9800SE's I've seen have 1 VGA and 1 DVI output. You'll need to get hold of a dvi-vga converter (about 4.99 or so), unless you card came with one and then you should be sorted.

S-Video will only give the option to have both the same screen displayed.

Cheers.

twine
03-19-2005, 03:47 AM
unfortunatley my 9800se is an all in wonder which only has the vga socket, and i already have the dvi-i adapter for my existing monitor. I have been posting on more specialist forums and it looks like its gonna have to be a new g/card if i want dual monitors.

phil lawson
03-19-2005, 04:22 AM
Aahhh MMmm yeah, doesnt look too good then for dual screen with that card. :(