PDA

View Full Version : In desperate need of some urgent help!

ilongley
03-15-2005, 05:19 PM
Hi all,

This is my first post so I'm not sure whether it's in the right forum or not but I'm hoping someone out there can can - well - save my bacon!

Our 3D guy in work is off and I volunteered to model a football (uk type) in Lightwave 7.0 for a client. I'm no expert but I've used it before a long time ago and found plenty of tutorials on the web for creating such a model.

The problem is, this football needs to be made of pentagons and equilateral triangles not the usual pentagons and hexagons (which all the tutorials cover) - and this is where I'm stuck.

I've done the first part but I can't "step and repeat" the pattern to complete the sphere. The client's coming to my office tomorrow at 4pm and if I haven't got it done I'm in the sh1t.

Is there anyone out there who could take a look at the attached file and give me some advice? - I'm pretty desperate.

Many thanks,

Ian

PS - I'm on a PC, Lightwave 7.0

Dodgy
03-15-2005, 06:16 PM
I don't think it's possible in the configuration you have there. It works around one pentagon, but I'm not sure it tessellates...

But this might get you started

ilongley
03-15-2005, 06:22 PM
Thanks mate that's pretty close!

I think you're right about the tesselation - is there a more appropriate technique I could use?

Thanks for all your help, it's much appreciated.

Ian

Mdust
03-15-2005, 10:15 PM
There's a tool under the, well I don't know where it is in 7.0 but there is a plugin that makes platonic solids, and one of them the icosidodec...someting or other. Anyway it makes a tesselated ball with pentagons and eqilateral triangles.

Would that help?

M

ilongley
03-16-2005, 02:15 AM
That would be perfect for what I need - i'll see if I can find it.

[edit]

I've just had a look at that tool and it's not quite suitable. I've attached a jpg of the football pattern for people to look at if they think they may be able to help.

Cheers