PDA

View Full Version : FPrime Lighting Setup for External --> Internal?



Deux
03-15-2005, 05:45 AM
Hi all

I've been trying to light a room from externally (i.e. through windows) using area lights and FPrime's radiosity. What I'm finding is that I can't get nice blurred shadows from the window frames cast onto the room's walls. If I use distant or spotlights to complement the area lights I get hard edged shadows.

How might I go about it?

Lighting the interior of the room with spots, areas etc. and simulating GI isn't a problem, it's just the shadows from the windows I'm trying to achieve, particularly using FPrime.

Thanks,


-: Deux :-

Deux
03-15-2005, 06:22 AM
Ok, seems I've worked this one out...

My Area lights need to be at certain distance and resized using the Scale function to get somewhere near the effect I'm after.

-: Deux :-

Matt
03-15-2005, 07:11 AM
As you've already discovered, the bigger and further away they are - the softer they will be (but also more grainy).