PDA

View Full Version : Unnecessary Bug



Panikos
03-10-2005, 05:07 PM
I noticed that LW 8.2.1 has an envelope on Linear/Area Quality setting.
This value is an integer between 1..5.
Other values, less or greater, or non-integer are invalid.
Who had this idea to put an envelope there ?
It doesnt make sense at all !

:confused:

robewil
03-10-2005, 05:51 PM
Unnecessary BugAs opposed to all those bugs that are necessary. :)

Panikos
03-10-2005, 06:04 PM
Heh

I rushed !
I ment Unnecessary Envelope Bug.
Excuse moi sil vous plais :rolleyes:

faulknermano
03-11-2005, 02:19 AM
I noticed that LW 8.2.1 has an envelope on Linear/Area Quality setting.
This value is an integer between 1..5.
Other values, less or greater, or non-integer are invalid.
Who had this idea to put an envelope there ?
It doesnt make sense at all !

:confused:

lower values make for faster rendering. you can tie your envelope to the distance between the affected areas of the light and the camera, or possibly the distance between the light and the object. i think more and more option should be envelopeable and texture-isable as well.

Panikos
03-11-2005, 02:46 AM
What about validation ?
I didnt dare to make an animation with this value changing.

:(

faulknermano
03-11-2005, 02:50 AM
What about validation ?
I didnt dare to make an animation with this value changing.

:(

it would be interesting to experiment. i use the spin-trick with area lights too, so i get, more or less, better sampling than if i just used an area with no spin.

if i find time, i'll post some renders. ;)

Panikos
03-11-2005, 02:56 AM
Lennie

Area/Linear lights internally are consisting of point lights, with jittered position by default.
If you spin area/linear lights I think you generate more noise.
Been there, done that.

As far as "LOD in shading" I think it doesnt work, cause its easier to have ordinary point lights at a distance than area lights. Nobody will detect if the shadows there are soft/hard. Even if you have this envelope there, how often will you ask for such need ?

Generally speaking, its necessary to have Envelopes in many LW parameters.
However for this particular need, not only the range is very limited and restricted, but I dont see any major advantage for having it.

Dont tell me that you will use a procedural texture to vary the area/linear light quality.

tischbein3
03-11-2005, 07:24 AM
well, its perhaps a doubtfull option, but again, a lot of the functions/features are doubtfull unless you come to need them.

I could imagine to use it in combination with an expression (camera distance) for objects with a light attached, wich moves form close view to far.

Also you forget that a lot of people extensively use sliders for their their lightning/ scene setup.....

But thanks, for the tip (didn't saw it.)

Panikos
03-11-2005, 09:32 AM
Assume that you make an animation with changeable Area Lights Quality.

Changing this value during an animation causes a sharp change in shading,
cause this parameter jumps from 2-3, 1-2, 3-4 etc

I dont care. Personally I expressed myself.
If you think that you need it, fine with me.

Cheers (as Lightwolf seyz) :D