PDA

View Full Version : OT: iPod not recognised by Firewire port ...

Matt
03-10-2005, 03:05 PM
Hi all

I know this is off-topic, but I know how many technical minds we have hanging around these forums, and you might be able to suggest something!

:)

I have a Coolermaster PC with Firewire / USB ports on the back and some more on a flying lead from the motherboard to the top of the casing to allow easier access.

My iPod works fine on all the Firewire / USB ports at the back of the computer (ones directly mounted to the motherboard) but will only work on the USB ports on the top. I just cannot make the computer (or iTunes) recognise the iPod when using the top Firewire port.

It _seems_ to be drawing power from the port as the iPod battery symbol comes to life when I plug it in, although I've not drained the iPod completely to see if charging actually takes place. But it doesn't change the iPod screen to the 'do not disconnect' screen that should appear.

I have the latest iPod firmware, plus a patch from Microsoft that is supposed to fix problems with Firewire devices after SP2 has been installed, I know the cable is fine as it works with the other port at the rear (and my computer at work).

The shop where I bought the computer from sent me a replacement flying-lead board to try, but this has exactly the same problems.

Anything else I can try? Any help would be greatly appreciated as it's a pain having to fish around the back of the computer when I have a Firewire port within easy reach that _should_ work.

Also, not sure if it helps, but in the Device Manager I only see one IEEE 1384 Bus Controller for Firewire, should I see two, or is that one bus controlling both? Either way Device Manager reports no problems with the one that is there.

Thanks in advance for any help!

Cheers
Matt

Sastira
03-10-2005, 03:38 PM
I suggest you try another device on the top port and see what happens, then give us an update.

Matt
03-10-2005, 03:43 PM