PDA

View Full Version : Video Output Question

Z_Render_8
03-04-2005, 09:23 AM
Hello,

I am rendering an animated short for a friend of mine. I have 64 scenes that I need to render a DVD presentation. I was told I should render the scenes into an image sequence and not a movie. Then import the images into a QT movie. After that, import the video into Final Cut Pro. I do not have a lot of video experience, but I do understand some media technique.

I have never used this method before, so I would like to ask these questions.

A: What is the best extension to use for image sequence in Lightwave? LW_tif32, LW_tag32, etc.....

B: When I import into QT, do I use the same file extension as the image extension name?

C: How should I set up FCP compression setting when importing the video?

D: Do I use mpeg 2 for the final rendering for the DVD? Are there any settings I should be aware of when using mpeg 2?

When I was new to LW, I would render the scenes into a 720x486 non- compression QT movie and then import into FCP using the NTSC settings for a VHS tape recording. For computer playback, I would use Sorenson Video 3 compression.

I do understand by rendering an image sequence you are protecting the images you have rendered up to, in the event the computer crashes. Where as a QT movie you lose everything.

This will be the first time I am doing a video for DVD players.

Any help or information would be greatly appreciated! Thanks! :rolleyes:

Mdust
03-05-2005, 02:05 AM
Hi,

First of all good luck with your project. I hope it all turns out right.

1) The main reason you should consider rendering out your animation into image sequences in your situation is to have it available for multiple formats and to be able to have the orignial to come back to to recompress should your codec or settings not be correct.

However, you can nip this all in the bud by doing tests and researching your formatt beforehand.