PDA

View Full Version : LW_ChanLum <Free Shader>



-EsHrA-
03-04-2005, 05:19 AM
ahw heck.. :)

im releasing this as is, there will hopefully be some more updates because i have the idea its possible to add a few more features...
but since i am not a coder i would love some feedback.

ChanLum for Lightwave
(well, sorta light version but well capable of producing some neat SSS-like effects for now...)

lava anyone?...

http://members.home.nl/mlon/lw_chanlum

id love to see some renders !! :)


have fun,

mlon

Exper
03-04-2005, 05:24 AM
Great.... really great... masterpiece! :cool:

But the download link is broken.

-EsHrA-
03-04-2005, 05:30 AM
Great.... really great... masterpiece! :cool:

But the download link is broken.


not anymore ! ;)


mlon

Exper
03-04-2005, 05:43 AM
I'll start some testing this afternoon! :D

theo
03-04-2005, 05:59 AM
Cool mlon- I shall test likewise......

riki
03-04-2005, 07:21 AM
Is it PC only?

Ztreem
03-04-2005, 07:21 AM
Looks cool, I'll test it this weekend. Thanks for sharing! :cool:

Exper
03-04-2005, 09:54 AM
I don't know but Transparency and IOR seem to freeze LW 8.2!

-EsHrA-
03-04-2005, 10:06 AM
I don't know but Transparency and IOR seem to freeze LW 8.2!

yes, i am aware of this, im not sure whats causing this.

i hope somebody with some shading programming knowledge can help me out and maybe even enhance it with adding some other features i have in mind.

its not open-source but i have the c code here if somebody is really interested and has some time on his hands too look into it...



mlon


ps. i will update the readme.txt file in the zip with this bug, so people know it upfront.

Exper
03-04-2005, 01:14 PM
yes, i am aware of this, im not sure whats causing this.
....
ps. i will update the readme.txt file in the zip with this bug, so people know it upfront.Ok... well to know... I just freezed LW on quite all tests due Transparency.

The Shader is fast... also using quite high sample values... great stuff Mlon. :cool:

I'll test it more... tomorrow at work (hoping in have some spare time).

-EsHrA-
03-04-2005, 01:35 PM
Ok... well to know... I just freezed LW on quite all tests due Transparency.

The Shader is fast... also using quite high sample values... great stuff Mlon. :cool:

I'll test it more... tomorrow at work (hoping in have some spare time).


it doesnt total freeze on me, i can still 'escape' ...

thanks for comments xper!


mlon

-EsHrA-
03-04-2005, 01:40 PM
Is it PC only?

yes, for now...sorry.



mlon

Exper
03-05-2005, 04:07 AM
it doesnt total freeze on me, i can still 'escape'I don't know... maybe due to lack of time... waiting a little more should help going out the loop/freeze!

thanks for comments xper!You deserve! :)

Here is a very simple test (better viewed on a black background)... just basical, trivial and nothing special (gosh-darn... wish I have some more spare time)!

Exper
03-05-2005, 05:02 AM
Is it possible to Envelope the Radius value?
It could provide really great animated shots... I made some tests slightly changing the Radius and it should works ok.

Karmacop
03-05-2005, 05:21 AM
or even texture it, so you can use weight maps ..

Ztreem
03-05-2005, 10:11 AM
I love this shader!
Here's a little quick test I made.

Aquaman
03-05-2005, 10:32 AM
I'm lovin this shader too. Here's a quick sample I did using a quick model I created using zuzzabuzz's germinator plugin.

CB_3D
03-05-2005, 10:56 AM
I'm lovin this shader too. Here's a quick sample I did using a quick model I created using zuzzabuzz's germinator plugin.


Where can that be found?

Aquaman
03-05-2005, 11:07 AM
Should be able to get it here http://www.unm.edu/%7Ebuzzbuzz/Germinator.zip

Aquaman
03-05-2005, 11:10 AM
I apologize for leading this thread astray a little bit.

Captain Obvious
03-05-2005, 11:10 AM
Can we please get a Mac version of this? Pretty please? :D

-EsHrA-
03-05-2005, 11:44 AM
looking great !
keep em coming ! :cool:



mlon

-EsHrA-
03-05-2005, 11:58 AM
here's an older test i did...

first without and second with ChanLum, although i went a bitt overboard on the settings i think and also forgot it to add it to the fingertips.. ahwell :)...

makes a nice gummy puppet..



mlon

-EsHrA-
03-05-2005, 12:32 PM
or even texture it, so you can use weight maps ..

since its bound to luminosity you can texture it accordingly...


mlon

Simon
03-05-2005, 02:21 PM
Thanks you v much .... this plugin is really good!! Nice results very fast too. This took 13 seconds on a dual 2.8 xeon with pld3 level aa ....

Lottmedia
03-05-2005, 02:31 PM
Anybody got some docs or a tut on this thing? I'm at a loss as to how to get any results.

J-Rod

a3dmind
03-06-2005, 07:56 AM
I could spot 2 downloadable files, Chanlum1000.zip and LW_ChanLum_0_2-1.zip . Which one is the latest chanlum plugin. It looks like one is version 0.2 which includes a .p plugin which appears in the shaders tab but the the other one which seem to be version 1.0 of the plug only includes the manual and a .cob file that I don't have a clue what it is! Can anyone help me through this? How can u install the latter?

An amazing plugin. Look forward in testing it.

a3dmind

-EsHrA-
03-06-2005, 08:26 AM
I could spot 2 downloadable files, Chanlum1000.zip and LW_ChanLum_0_2-1.zip . Which one is the latest chanlum plugin. It looks like one is version 0.2 which includes a .p plugin which appears in the shaders tab but the the other one which seem to be version 1.0 of the plug only includes the manual and a .cob file that I don't have a clue what it is! Can anyone help me through this? How can u install the latter?

An amazing plugin. Look forward in testing it.

a3dmind


???

the only file you need is from my site http://members.home.nl/mlon/lw_chanlum

http://members.home.nl/mlon/random/LW_ChanLum_0_2.zip


i have the idea you also went to Naam's C4D site and downloaded the Cinema4D version which is Chanlum1000.zip.... you dont need this one ofcoz for Lightwave.

if you have Cinema4D you can download, install and use Chanlum1000.zip otherwise download LW_Chanlum_0_2.zip for Lightwave.

a3dmind
03-06-2005, 08:56 AM
Ok well said and confusion gone.

Thanks -EsHrA- and keep developing this great plugin

a3dmind

-EsHrA-
03-06-2005, 11:12 AM
Is it PC only?

osx version coming up, thanks to Richard Brak!


mlon

Ztreem
03-06-2005, 01:23 PM
Because I love workarounds I had to try if it was possible to get the object to be transparent together with the shader. This is one of my tests together with my first example I posted before.

-EsHrA-
03-06-2005, 01:30 PM
hey Ztreem, that looks nice!

ofcoz now you have to tell us how you did the workaround ! :)



mlon

Simon
03-06-2005, 01:30 PM
Love this shader ...... here's another test with a Germinator object, the only lighting is one area light, time about 2 mins ....

-EsHrA-
03-06-2005, 01:34 PM
love it Simon, very nice !

im really glad you guys like this shader sofar!
thats where i did it for, to get it to LW for all of you to have!


mlon

Ztreem
03-06-2005, 01:59 PM
Transparency workaround.

For transparency you only have to use the additive transparency in the advanced tab. Crank it up a bit and your object becomes transparent. Now you have an transparent object, but now you can't alter the refraction index. Then I used the old glass trick. (Take the object an copy it to another layer and flip the polys and assign it to a different surface.) Now you can set the surface facing inwards to be transparent with a refraction index of your taste. That's about it.

This is just a workaround and doesn't work for every situation and have a big downside... Rendertimes! :p

Ztreem
03-08-2005, 12:25 PM
I just wanted to share my latest test with this shader, some ice tests.

bobakabob
03-08-2005, 01:08 PM
Ztreem, Fabulous work - this looks like a great shader. -EsHrA-, thanks for contributing it to the Lightwave community.

Ztreem
03-08-2005, 02:29 PM
OK! I've got it. The shader works with transparency as long as you don't use raytraced shadows.

3DBob
03-08-2005, 04:41 PM
Nice shader - way to go..... Some great examples too. Keep it up - I'm enjoying this - can't wait to get some time to have a go myself

3DBob

Karmacop
03-08-2005, 11:50 PM
OK! I've got it. The shader works with transparency as long as you don't use raytraced shadows.

I thought you needed raytraced shadows on for the shader to work? :confused:

mav3rick
03-09-2005, 01:36 AM
shader works with all ratytrace shadows/reflection/refraction and transparency works too.

Ztreem
03-09-2005, 01:43 AM
I thought you needed raytraced shadows on for the shader to work?

I think it works without raytraced shadows, but it doesn't look that nice as it does with raytraced shadows.


shader works with all ratytrace shadows/reflection/refraction and transparency works too.

So you mean that you can apply transparancy to an object with the shader and have all four options in render options selected and still render, without a hangup?

mav3rick
03-09-2005, 02:24 AM
yes. it doesnt hang up i never had hangup in all my tests. it just slows down when using transparency and higher sampling.
this image has raytrace reflection/refraction/shadows turned on

reflection/refraction blurring 60%
transparency 30 %
reflection 15%
refraction index 1.1
1 point light

that's it njoy


http://www.null.hr/tmp/chanlum.jpg

Ztreem
03-09-2005, 02:39 AM
mav3rick: I just replied to you in the CgTalk forum and it works now. :D
I took a lowpoly object and set the chanlum shader at 8 samples and rendered with 320*240 px, works fine. But very slow. So when I tested with 300 samples and a high polycount it was like LW was freezing.
But my method with additive transparency seems to be faster anyway. :p

mav3rick
03-09-2005, 02:48 AM
yea i know it is faster if u crank up ray recursion to 2 and sampling to 8 u get faster results i manage to render this image in 640 480 5 passes classic aa with shdw noise reduction on in 11 minutes.

but beside that this plugin neeeds hard core OPTIMIZATION.

what i wanted to show that the plugin works corectly with everything and dont hangs. anyway again it need optoimization for faster render and higher sampling.

UnCommonGrafx
03-09-2005, 09:47 AM
Oh gosh, does it slow down.

1min 49sec to 25 mins for just shadows being on! Crazy. Like those are radiosity switches...

Red_Oddity
03-09-2005, 11:25 AM
Both are nice plugins...

It does need optimisation though...but cool to just screw around with

My first render :D

Captain Obvious
03-09-2005, 02:01 PM
How's the Mac version coming along? ;)

riki
07-18-2005, 06:36 AM
How's the Mac version coming along? ;)

Maybe some prgress on the Mac front :) Thanks to Mlon and Ade. Here's a test with Geraldo's model.

Captain Obvious
07-18-2005, 07:35 AM
Can I get it somewhere? :D

riki
07-18-2005, 07:43 AM
Mlon's busting some bugs, but hopefully it should be ready soon.

monovich
07-18-2005, 11:57 AM
mac version = exciting!

you guys are amazing.

-EsHrA-
07-18-2005, 12:19 PM
I have a version of ChanLum for Mac OSX up on my site.

Though be aware, this is a preliminary version and has some issues, be sure to read the readme.txt

There will probably be an update after i get back from holidays to sort the issues out.

I hope it can be of some use to you OSX peeps !


mlon

Captain Obvious
07-18-2005, 04:12 PM
Awesome. I've been playing around with it for a while now. It's fun.

Ade
07-18-2005, 07:45 PM
2 big things I think should be addressed -

Price?
FPrime support possible?

riki
07-18-2005, 07:50 PM
Hey Ade

The price is free as far as I understand, what needs to be addressed about that? :)
But on the F Prime/Shader front. Correct me if wrong, but I didn't think any shaders worked with FPrime.
That's a Newtek issue isn't it?

Ade
07-18-2005, 07:58 PM
Ahhh yes your right Riki...

Newtek please....If you may, lets get this shader and all shaders finally supported in the SDK's to work with 3rd party renderers.
Many of us have moved to FPrime as a primary renderer now for archi.

Could you guys (NT) let us know how much work has been done to fix this issue?

toby
07-18-2005, 11:53 PM
Sweeeeeeeeeeet!

Thank you Eshra and Mlon!
:beerchug:

-EsHrA-
07-19-2005, 02:55 PM
be sure to check out the amazing pics done by The Ripper and xiao_x with use of ChanLum starting on page 25 of the thread.. uhmm..
check the whole thread anyway, amazing renders and tips about shading and skin-shading.

http://www.cgtalk.com/showthread.php?t=145071&page=25&pp=15


mlon

monovich
07-21-2005, 01:11 PM
what is IOR ?

Lightwolf
07-21-2005, 01:41 PM
what is IOR ?
Index OF Refraction?

Cheers,
Mike

-EsHrA-
12-17-2005, 08:25 AM
here's a great article on LW_ChanLum, thanks to Robbie!

http://www.sheep.ch/gmd/


mlon