PDA

View Full Version : Windows Media Playback out of VT



tmon
03-01-2005, 09:07 PM
option in Preferences no longer works in our VT[4] SP1 5522 workstation.
We have Direct X 9.0c installed.

In previous versions of VT-edit, selecting "uses VT card for ouput" for "Windows Media playback in prefs would allow us to select Direct Show as a switcher/output option to play Windows Media out of our VT card.

This is no longer the case.

I've submitted this as a bug report. Is it one?

jcupp
03-02-2005, 09:27 AM
This is not a VT bug. The MS SDK liscense doesn't allow NewTek to grab the output of MP anymore. You can still use the old version of MP it's installed on your machine.

We live in a rights managed world :(

tmon
03-02-2005, 10:50 AM
Such a shame. That was one wicked kewhl feature....

:(

mgrusin
03-02-2005, 01:19 PM
What stinks is that this kills VT Transmitter -> VT Receiver, which could have opened up all kinds of possibilities.

Welcome to 1984. :mad: Support the EFF (http://www.eff.org/) etc. if you think this is getting rediculous.

-MG.

jcupp
03-02-2005, 01:49 PM
If you can get mplayer2 to play your file or stream you can still redirect this to the VT. You will find mplayer2 in your \program files\windows media player\ folder.

I just verified this on my machine