PDA

View Full Version : the best rez and format for a photo for a texture

twine
02-28-2005, 08:57 AM
Hi, im new to lightwave, 3 weeks or so. I have imported a few pics just for backgrounds, but a friend of mine who is a semi proffesional photographer has agreed to taking a few pics for me to use as textures. Just some basic flooring and sand, nothing to fancy. My question is what is the best format and resolution to import these pics into lightwave with?
He lives in another country and will be sending any pics via email or possibly a ftp, (a factor to be taken into account).

marble_sheep
02-28-2005, 09:17 AM
Most of the answer involves how close you think you will be moving the camera (in Lightwave) to the texture. If you know it will be far away, save memory and have it be a small texture. If you know the camera is going to get right up next to the object in question, make sure it is high-res enough to look good. Test renders are your friend in this case ;)

Here is the rule I follow... guidlines, actually... Figure out what your render size will be (i.e. 800x600, 720x480, etc.) Then figure out how close the camera will come to the object. Say you have a box in lightwave, and the side of the box will have a texture that is 500x500. Well, if your render was 720x480, then you wouldn't want the side of the box to take up the entire frame.... since 720 is bigger than 500, the texture will begin to pixelate the closer to the box you move. If the camera is close enough that only half the box is visible, try to use a texture that is twice as big, Etc Etc Etc. So if you are doing print work, you will probably need some pretty big textures. As far as format, jpeg's save memory (and HD space!) since they're smaller, but just be sure they're not overly compressed. I try to use .tif's and .tga's.