PDA

View Full Version : Os 9.22/os 10.2.5

mwh710
04-17-2003, 09:52 PM
I am a High School teacher & will be getting a lab full (32) licenses of LightWave (upgrade from Inspire). We are presently running 9.2.2, because we need "FoolProof" on it to keep the students from messing with files, folders etc. Is it THAT big of a difference that I need to switch to 10.2.5? I personally use it at home & love it, but "FoolProof" isn't OS X native yet.

turbo
04-17-2003, 10:49 PM
but OSX is so OSXY.. haven't looked back.:D :cool: :D

Rory_L
04-18-2003, 04:11 AM
I`m on 9.2 and it`s slow and crashy. People say 10 is the Holy Grail.

R

eblu
04-18-2003, 08:07 AM
mwh710,
i am going to sound like a mindless sheep, but I believe that with 1 xserve, and remote desktop, a teacher can have incredible control over the computers that students use. go read their propiganda:

http://www.apple.com/remotedesktop/

and if that sounds like its over your head, there are ways to severly limit a User's ability to tamper. take a look at the "accounts" panel in system preferences. check out the capabilities button, it allows precise control over system, and application access.

if you became familiar with the NetInfo dataBase (i highly suggest it for everybody) you could manually put your user's home directories on a separate drive (perhaps a network drive) and keep them out of the boot drive altogether, then if they screw up their home directory, you can simply delete its contents, without worrying about mucking with system software. this has the added benefit of quite possibly being a homebrew network login system, each student might be able to login to his/her username on any machine (i've never tried it myself, but i cant see why it wouldn't work).

basically, in my opinion, OSX is more open at the get go, compared to os 9, but it can become very controlled, and protected with very little effort.

paintboy
04-18-2003, 08:36 AM
not to mention placing your students at a distinct disadvantage