PDA

View Full Version : Newbie just learning the ropes.

02-24-2005, 07:43 PM
Hello Everyone.
I am very new to 3-D. Right now I'm studying modeler.
I need to know, when you make for example; two separate polygons and you
want to apply a different color to each of their surfaces, how is this done?

I've selected a polygon, gave it a color, but both of them changed to that color
instead of the one selected.

Also, in Layout, is there any way to have none of the objects selected at all?
There always seem to be something (object, lights or camera) that is selected.

Thanks.

Silkrooster
02-24-2005, 08:16 PM
First welcome aboard. Now to give polys different color or textures you need to surface them, this is done by pressing the q button and giving the surface a name. Any poly that uses this surface will be the same. So you could start by not selecting any polys, press the q key, to surface the whole object. Then select the polys you want different and give that a surface name.
Now you goto the surface editor, shortcut is the F5 key. Once you open the surface editor, you will see the names you created. Select a name and change the settings as needed.
I highly recommend that you read the manual, it goes into great detail on how surfacing objects and using the surface editor. If you did not get a book with your program, you should be able to find a pdf file on your CD or you can goto the location on Newtek's web site, where you registered and download the pdf.
I hope this helps, if you need more information, let us know.
Silk

lesterfoster
02-24-2005, 08:26 PM
Silkrooster!! You beat me to this one by only 2 or 3 minutes. :)

118707. Wellcome to the community. :)

02-24-2005, 09:21 PM
Thanks for your help.
I had read the manual but for some reason... this simple answer got past me.

Believe me, it took me two weeks to figure out the points and poly thing.

The animation, lighting and layout seems easy ( I come from the old school
animation background)...