PDA

View Full Version : is LightWave right for me?

hardlanding
02-23-2005, 09:32 AM
I have been wanting to purchase a 3d package for some time now and have heard good things about LW. I am an industrial designer and i have pretty much reached my limit with AutoCad's solid & surface modeling. I would like something with character animation and better rendering capabilities than Accurender. Will i be able to take what i have learned modelling in Autocad and use it with LW? I have read that LW can recognize dxf files so i wont abandon AutoCad all together. I need a tool that i can use for my print projects as well as web animations. i would like to produce interactive process flow diagrams of systems that clients can navigate thru on maybe a shockwave or quicktime platform. LW fits in my budget and from what i have read about it, it seems like a cool program. From what little i have told you here, do you experienced users think this a useful tool for me? i will also be building a new system for LW if i go with it, i could use some input on the ideal machine to run it. especially info on your favorite video cards. thanks.

kml12
02-23-2005, 10:01 AM
I started with AutoCad many years ago at the age of 11, moving to Lightwave was very easy. I found it's interface simple and straight forward. I've used LW for commercials, prototype work, character work, booth displays, game boards, sales presentations, and on and on.

Been wavin for 8 years now... :D

Desktop:
Intel P4 3.0 GHZ Minimum
1 to 2 Gig of Ram
Minimim 64mb (Recommend 128mb) Video Card

Laptops are another choice: ($1600 Total)
I run an Acer 1662 3.0 GHZ with 2 Gigs of Ram DVD/CDRW Burner and a 60GB HD
It runs Lightwave 8, AutoCad, Solidworks, XSI, Photoshop, Premier (Using an external Firewire drive), Photoshop, and more without a hitch...

iaef
02-23-2005, 10:16 AM
Ok! I believe that you are ideal for many 3D packages, but I will say my POV on this theme.