PDA

View Full Version : Export to Motion - issue



czesiu
02-11-2005, 07:29 AM
Hi folks,

I can not export spline as Motion Path, it simply does not work.
What I did is:

1. A have created a spline in Modeler.
2. I have saved the spline as an ordinary object.
3. Then I have activated the spline with polygon tool.
4. I choose in menu: File > Export > PathToMotion
5. When the file windows opened I geave it a name and clicked Save button.

In Layout then:

1. I have created Particle (HV Emiter).
2. I opened the FX_Emiter parameters window.
3. In the window I clicked the flap File then I clicked the button Load Motion.
4. when the file requester windo opened I looked for my recently Exported spline
but nothig was there.

What am I doing/is wrong?
Can somebody tell me?

I don't get it.

Cheers
czesiu :confused:

evenflcw
02-11-2005, 09:09 AM
Motion files consist of keyframes and as such can only be loaded to items. Particles require something else alltogether. But if you want particles to follow a path you can use Wind effector set to Path. Search the forums.

http://vbulletin.newtek.com/showthread.php?t=30534&highlight=wind+path

czesiu
02-11-2005, 11:50 AM
Thanks a lot for the hint evenflcw,

Before I tried to use Collision > Bouncing > Planar
but it worked bad.

The wind however works pefectly but it take a lot of memory and therefore
it is tiring.

Now I see tha I have to get more RAM and even better CPU, nor I have 512RAM and PIV 2.4 GHz.

Thanks to you I am on the track now.

Cheers
czesiu :)

prospector
02-11-2005, 01:04 PM
I always use 'Curv2mot'
It asks how many frames and speed of animation, and if speed is constant